For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

2019 Outstanding Dissertation Award Winners

Claire Witherel receiving the Outstanding Dissertation Award 2019
Claire Witherel (left), PhD candidate in Biomedical Engineering, receiving the 2019 Outstanding Dissertation Award from Anne Converse Willkomm (right), Chair of the Graduate Student Excellence Awards Committee at Graduate Student Day, May 30, 2019.

The Outstanding Dissertation Awards are presented to PhD/doctoral students who have written original, innovative dissertations that reflect great research and have or are likely to be disseminated widely and have significant impact on the field and society. This award is open to all PhD/doctoral students who have achieved candidacy during this or previous academic years and are expected to complete, defend their dissertation, and graduate this academic year.

Graduate College Award Winner

Julia Hildebrand
PhD Program in Communication, Culture and Media
College of Arts and Sciences
"Consumer Drones as Mobile Media: A Technographic Study of Seeing, Moving, and Being (With) Drones"

Claire Witherel
PhD Program in Biomedical Engineering
School of Biomedical Engineering, Science and Health Systems
"Biomaterial-mediated Control over Macrophage Behavior for Tissue Regeneration"

College/School Finalists

Mohammed Alghamdi
PhD Program in Rehabilitation Sciences
College of Nursing and Health Professions

Janna Ataiants
PhD Program in Community Health & Prevention
Dornsife School of Public Health

Zachary Brodnik
PhD Program in Neuroscience
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and Professional Studies
College of Medicine

Thomas Griffin
PhD Program in Business Administration, Finance
LeBow College of Business

Elaine Perignat
PhD Program in Educational Leadership and Learning Technologies
School of Education

Patrick Urbankowski
PhD Program in Materials Science and Engineering
College of Engineering