For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

The Gao Lab Members


Current Members

Wen-Jun Gao, PhD

Wen-Jun Gao, MD, PhD

Position: Principal Investigator
Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy
Drexel University College of Medicine
  215.991.8907 (Office)
  215.991.8473 (Lab Room 255)
  215.991.8743 (Lab Room 278)
  215.991.9082 (Fax)
 wen-jun.gao@drexelmed.edu

Biography
Dr. Wen-Jun Gao received his PhD from Shanghai Brain Research Institute, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 1997. He did his first postdoctoral training with Dr. Sarah L. Pallas at Georgia State University from 1997-1999; then with Drs. Patricia S. Goldman-Rakic and David A. McCormick at Yale University School of Medicine from 1999 to 2005. He became an assistant professor in 2005 and is now a tenured professor (since 2015) in the Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy at Drexel University College of Medicine.


Rachel Allison, Gao Lab Member

Rachel Allison

Position: Graduate Student
 raa343@drexel.edu


Alexander Benson, Gao Lab Member

Alexander Benson

Position: Graduate Student
 ab4728@drexel.edu


Jake Clarin, Gao Lab Member

Jake Clarin

Position: Graduate Student
 jc4532@drexel.edu

Research interest: Igsf9b gene and schizophrenia


Revathi Kaduru, Gao Lab Member

Revathi Kaduru

Position: Graduate Student
 rk934@drexel.edu

Research interest: Epigenetic mechanisms for cocaine-induced memories


Nancy Mack, Gao Lab Member

Nancy Mack

Position: Graduate Student
 nancymack4@gmail.com


Nadia Bouras, Gao Lab Member

Nadia Bouras

Position: Drexel Student
 nnb37@drexel.edu

Research interest: Prefrontal cortical role in anxiety-related behavior and social behavior


 

Nichole Ng

Position: Drexel STAR program
 nln27@drexel.edu

 Back to Top


Former Lab Members

Abby Keith, Gao Lab Member

Abby Keith
Position: Graduate Student
 alk348@dragons.drexel.edu

Research interest: Igsf9b gene and schizophrenia


 

Natasha Reddy
Position: Medical Student
 nr522@drexel.edu


Shasha Yang

Shasha Yang
Position: Graduate Student
 yangshasha1990@126.com

Research interest: Development of HCN channels in prefrontal cortical neurons


Bo Xing, PhD

Bo Xing, PhD
Position: Postdoctoral Fellow
 bo.xing@drexelmed.edu

Research interest: Dopamine regulation of social behaviors and prefrontal function


Linda Chamberlin

Linda Chamberlin
Position: MD/PhD Student
 lac366g@gmail.com


Sarah Monaco

Sarah Monaco
 sarahmonaco381@gmail.com

Research interest: Molecular and cellular mechanisms of GSK3b signaling in psychiatric disorders


Austin Coley, PhD

Austin Coley, PhD
 acoley@salk.edu

Research interest: Postnatal development of synaptic function in transgenic mouse prefrontal cortex


Cassandra Alexandropoulos

Cassandra Alexandropoulos
 cassandra.alexandropoulos@gmail.com


Yan-Chun Li, PhD

Yan-Chun Li, PhD
 yanchun.li@drexelmed.edu

Research interest: Dopamine signaling in the prefrontal cortex


Dong Xi, PhD, MD

Dong Xi, PhD, MD
 dong.xi@drexelmed.edu


George G. Stradtman, III

George G. Stradtman, III
 george.stradtman@us.army.mil


Huaixing Wang, PhD

Huaixing Wang, PhD
 wanghuaixing2000@yahoo.com


Alicia E. Adelman

Alicia E. Adelman
 alicia.adelman@gmail.com


Kimberly Urban, PhD

Kimberly Urban, PhD
 will0w783@hotmail.com


Melissa A. Snyder, PhD

Melissa A. Snyder, PhD
 melbabyo@gmail.com


Min-Juan Wang, PhD

Min-Juan Wang, PhD
 minjuan024@163.com


Menglin (Merry) Li

Menglin (Merry) Li
 serlin313@hotmail.com


Katelyn Reeb

Katelyn Reeb
 katelyn.l.reeb@drexel.edu


 

Elise Zhao
 elise.e.zhao@gmail.com


 

Rita Akumuo
 rca47@drexel.edu


Yelena Gulchina

Yelena Gulchina
 yelena.gulchina@drexel.edu


Genie Han

Genie Han
 genie.han@drexel.edu


Brielle Ferguson

Brielle Ferguson
 brielle.ferguson91@gmail.com


Erin McEachern

Erin McEachern
 epmceachern@gmail.com


Yu-xiang Zhang

Yu-xiang Zhang
 1052908733@qq.com

 Back to Top


Others

Joy Hudson
Project and Teaching Coordinator
  215.991.8401
 joy.hudson@drexelmed.edu

Kathleen Golden
Assistant to the Chair, Administrative Coordinator
  215.991.8402
 kathy.golden@drexelmed.edu

Cecelia Wood
Department Administrator
  215.991.8497
 cecelia.wood@drexelmed.edu

Anna Maria Falco
Accountant
  215.991.8255
 annamaria.falco@drexelmed.edu

Barbara Engle
Teaching Coordinator

 
 Back to Top

Synaptic connections between pyramidal neurons and GABAergic interneurons. The neurons were labeled with bicytin during patch clamp recording and reconstructed with Neurolucida system.