For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Copy Course Content

Instructors can elect to copy course content from a previous course they taught in order to reuse it in an upcoming course.  Before performing a course copy, consult your college/department support for guidance as some units have alternative procedures in place.

It is strongly recommended to only copy into a destination course once.  Learn why and other things to check before doing a course copy.

Performing a Course Copy

  1. Navigate to the course in Learn that contains your content.
    By default, the Courses menu in Drexel Learn lists Current Courses - courses where the duration is currently available (i.e. it is between the start and end dates of the course). In order to view past courses, you will need to manually select the appropriate term for display in the Courses menu. You can change the displayed term by clicking on the drop-down menu at the top of the page, then selecting the desired term from the list.
  2. Click on Packages and Utilities under Course Management to expand its options.
  3. Click on Course Copy.
  4. Click the Browse button under Select Copy Options.
  5. Select the Radio button next to the course you would like to copy your content to in the window that pops up. You can use the Search by field to help find your course.
  6. Click the Submit button on that page (you may have to scroll to the bottom) to copy the Course ID to the Course Copy area.
  7. Click the the Select All button to ensure you get everything from your course. It is much easier to delete items you do not need from the new course than it is to perform another copy if you missed something.
    (Note: If you use Discussion Board assignments in which students reply to starter posts by the instructor, you can leave the default "Include starter posts" option selected. If students create their own threads in your discussion forums, you will want to choose "Include only the forums" so that student starter posts are not copied over.)
  8. Select the options for copying discussion posts
  9. Select the Copy links and copies of the content (include entire course home folder) option under File Attachments. This will copy over all content from your previous course, and is selected by default.
  10. Click the Submit button to begin the copy process.
  11. You will see a green confirmation bar and receive an e-mail when the copy has completed. The length of time it takes for a course copy depends on the number of items currently in the queue and how much content you are trying to copy. In most cases, this process only takes a few minutes.

Things to do After a Course Copy

There are a number of items that will require some additional actions following a course copy. If you used any of these items in your course, you will need to configure them for the new course:

Ares Course Reserves

  • You will need to re-add course materials on reserve with the library for Ares Course Reserves
  • When you click on your Course Reserves link, you will need to select the term for the new course
  • Click on Add Reserve Items where you can add new materials or import from a previous course
  • You can find more information on the Course Reserves process on the Library's website

LockDown Browser

  • You will need to visit the LockDown Browser Dashboard (Course Tools -> Respondus Lockdown Browser) in order for RDLB-required tests to be available to students

Turnitin Direct Assignments

  • Turnitin Direct Assignments must be recycled before the students can access them
  • You must click on one Turnitin Direct Assignment link in your course and click the Recycle Turnitin Direct Assignments button that appears
  • This only needs to be done on one assignment and all other will be recycled as well
  • Dates will need to be changed on your assignment following this step

VoiceThread

  • VoiceThread links will be copied but their settings will not
  • You must click on each of your VoiceThread links and set them up again