Celebrating Commencement 2017

2017 graduating undergraduate students
Undergraduate Class of 2017

The department bid farewell to its graduating students at our annual commencement dinner at the University Club on Monday, June 12, 2017. Faculty, staff, and students receiving 2016-2017 departmental awards were also honored. The College of Engineering held its commencement event on Tuesday, June 13 at 1:00 pm at the Mann Center. Finally, a University-wide commencement ceremony took place on Tuesday, June 13 at 7:30 pm at Citizens Bank Park.

Department of Materials Science and Engineering Faculty and Staff Awards

Outstanding Research Award
Ekaterina Pomerantseva

Outstanding Teaching Award
Christopher Weyant

Outstanding Service Award
Steve May

Outstanding Staff Award
Dorilona Rose

Outstanding Graduate Student Award
Gabriel Burks (advisor: Christopher Li)
Katie Jo Sunday (advisor: Mitra Taheri)

Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award
Stephen Bady
Nordin Catic

Doctor of Philosophy in Materials Science and Engineering

2017 graduating Master's and PhD students
2017 PhD and Master's Graduates

Christopher Barr
“Grain Boundary Sensitive Design in Fe- and Ni-based Alloys for Materials Response in Irradiation Environment”
Supervising Professor: Mitra Taheri

Nenian Charles
“Towards Rational Design of Functional Fluoride and Oxyfluoride Materials from First Principles”
Supervising Professor: Steve May

Amber Choquette
“Tailoring Electronic Properties in Semiconducting Perovskite Materials Through Octahedral Control”
Supervising Professor: Steve May

Wayne Harlow
“The Development of an In-situ TEM Technique for Studying Corrosion Behavior as Applied to Zirconium-based Alloys”
Supervising Professor: Mitra Taheri

Matthew Hartshorne
“The Effect of Grain Boundary Character and Grain Boundary Engineered Microstructures on the Sensitization and Corrosion of 316L”
Supervising Professor: Mitra Taheri

Alex Krick
“Controlling the Electronic Properties in La1/3Sr2/3FeO3- Complex Perovskite Oxides”
Supervising Professor: Steve May
Current Position: Process TD Engineer, Intel

Asher Leff
“Dislocation Density Effects on Annealing Twin Nucleation and Recrystalization Mechanism Activation”
Supervising Professor: Mitra Taheri

Cheng-Hsin Lu
“Synthesis and Characterizations of Pb-modified CdSe Aqueous Qunatum Dots and Their Applications in Quantum Dot-Sensitized Solar Cells”
Supervising Professors: Wei-Heng Shih and Wan Shih

Derrick Smith
“Structure and Electrochemical Properties of Holographically Polymerized Polymer Electrolyte”
Supervising Professor: Christopher Li

Katie Jo Sunday
“Development of Ferrite-coated Soft Magnetic Composites: Correlation of Microstructure to Magnetic Properties”
Supervising Professor: Mitra Taheri

Katherine Van Aken
“Relationship between Carbon Electrode Materials and Electrolytes in Capacitive Energy Storage”
Supervising Professor: Yury Gogotsi

Hao Zhou
“Dynamic Topography of Nanoparticles Enables Their Ultra-long Blood Circulation and Highly Efficient Antitumor Efficacy”
Supervising Professor: Hao Cheng

Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Anthony Abel
Christopher Allen
Stephen Bady
Jacob Bolduc
Bryan Byles
Michael Carey
Angelica Connor
Ryan DeMott
Jasmine George
Cerina Gordon
Gabrielle Housel
Shang-Hao Huang
Xiting Liu
Kathleen Maleski
Elisa Mayerberger
Carli Moorehead
Bill Nguyen
Alain Schremmer
Jay Shah
Kathryn Small

Bachelor of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Stephen Bady (Magna Cum Laude)
Pardis Bonakdarpour
Michael Carey
Nordin Catic (Cum Laude)
Paul Cheung
Dainel Christe
Artemis Christou
Angelica Conner (Cum Laude)
Ryan DeMott
Darya Dragun
Adam Falcone (Cum Laude)
Renae Gannon
Cerina Gordon (Cum Laude)
Bernard Haines
Gabrielle Housel (Magna Cum Laude)
Jiaang Hu
Erik Hudson
Katelyn Kavenaugh
Matthew Langenstein
Bill Nguyen (Cum Laude)
Ryan Norman
Andriy Romanchuk
Jay Shah (Magna Cum Laude)
Samariddin Shanazarov
Kirtan Shelat
Gabriella Siryj
Matthew West (Summa Cum Laude)

In This Article