For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Pulse - Winter 2019/2020 Faculty Professional Development Day

"Roadmap to Career Success" was the theme for June 7, when faculty gathered for a day of professional development. Associate Dean Nancy Spector, MD, set the tone with her opening, "Graceful Self-Promotion: How to Get Over Your Fear of Bragging." Innovation and scholarship were on display in a number of "SNIP-ITs" — 5-minute TED-style talks — and poster presentations. Faculty could also participate in Career Consultation — individual CV reviews — and Speed Networking sessions. Annual awards were presented to 12 faculty members.

Amy Baranoski, MD, chair of the 2019 Mary DeWitt Pettit MD Fellowship Committee, and Dr. Comunale
Amy Baranoski, MD, chair of the 2019 Mary DeWitt Pettit MD Fellowship Committee, and Dr. Comunale

Drs. Angel and Hoffman
Drs. Angel and Hoffman

Mary DeWitt Pettit MD Fellowship

Mary Ann Comunale, EdD, MS, Microbiology & Immunology, for her project "Gestational Lyme Disease: An Urgent Need for Rapid Diagnosis"

Julian Marsh Faculty Scholar Award

James Burns Jr., PhD
Microbiology & Immunology

June Klinghoffer Clinical Educator Award

Sharon Griswold, MD, MPH
Emergency Medicine

Oksana Korzeniowski Patient Care Award

Ryan Offer, MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology

William Likoff Clinical Excellence Award

Susan Harding, MD
Orthopaedic Surgery

Vincent Zarro Community Outreach Award

Steven Russell, MD
Internal Medicine

Dr. Offer
Dr. Offer

Drs. Pirrone and Burns
Drs. Pirrone and Burns

Angelo Pinto Educator Award

Vanessa Pirrone, PhD
Microbiology & Immunology

Elias Abrutyn Mentoring Award

Michael Greenberg, MD, MPH
Emergency Medicine

Early Career Clinical Scientist Award

Christopher Hoffman, DO
Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine

Brett Angel, MD

Emerging Clinical Leader and Innovation Award

David Vearrier, MD, MPH
Emergency Medicine

Young Investigator Award

Megan Detloff, PhD
Neurobiology & Anatomy

Drs. Griswold, Greenberg and Vearrier
Drs. Griswold, Greenberg and Vearrier


 Back to Top


Pulse is published four times a year for students, faculty, staff, alumni and friends of the College, highlighting innovations in research, clinical practice and education; key events; and accomplishments. News, professional and academic achievements, calendar items and story ideas may be submitted by email to