Drexel Materials Young Alumni Recognized for Achievements

Boris Dyatkin
Boris Dyatkin
Kelsey Hatzell
Kelsey Hatzell
Sid Pathak receiving the Young Leaders Professional Development Award
Sid Pathak receives the TMS 2017 Young Leaders Professional Development Award from Mark Stoudt, vice chair of the Materials Processing and Manufacturing Division

Three Drexel Materials PhD graduates and one former post-doctoral researcher have recently received acknowledgement of their accomplishments in the field.

Boris Dyatkin (PhD ’16) was selected to receive Elsevier’s 2017 Carbon Journal Prize for an “an outstanding Ph.D. thesis in carbon materials science and technology.”

Elsevier will announce and feature this prize on its Carbon journal website. Additionally, the prize includes a grant of $1000 for Boris to attend the scientific conference of his choosing.

Kelsey Hatzell (PhD ’16), assistant professor of mechanical engineering and chemical and biomolecular engineering at Vanderbilt University, and Majid Beidaghi, assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Materials Engineering Program at Auburn University, formerly a Drexel Materials post-doctoral research associate, are recipients of Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) 2017 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards. The awards recognize junior faculty members for their work in any of five science and technology disciplines: engineering or applied science; life sciences; mathematics and computer science; physical sciences; and policy, management or education.

Recipients will receive $5,000 in “seed money” for the 2017-2018 academic year to enhance their research during the early stages of their career. Each recipient's institution also matches the ORAU award with an additional $5,000, making the total prize worth $10,000 for each winner. Winners may use the grants to purchase equipment, continue research or travel to professional meetings and conferences.

Sid Pathak (PhD ’09), assistant professor of materials science and engineering at the University of Nevada, Reno, received the Young Leaders Professional Development Award from The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society, or TMS, at the TMS annual meeting in San Diego February 26 – March 2, 2017.

The award aims to enhance the professional development of young members of the TMS by involving them in the long-term planning of the TMS and encouraging them to pursue leadership roles in the society. Pathak is one of two recipients from the Materials Processing and Manufacturing Division (MPMD) of TMS for 2017.

In This Article