Materials Faculty and Alumni Honored at MS&T 2015

At the Materials Science and Technology 2015 Conference held October 4-8 in Columbus, OH Department Head and Professor Michele Marcolongo was presented the honor of being elected an Alpha Sigma Mu Fellow. Marcolongo was recognized for having achieved and maintained a distinguished career and seminal international standing in the materials science and engineering profession. Alpha Sigma Mu is the international professional honor society for materials science and engineering.

Marcolongo Alpha Sigma Mu Fellow
Alumnus Fred Schmidt inducting Department Head and Professor Michele Marcolongo as an Alpha Sigma Mu Fellow.

May Stoughton Award
Associate Professor Steven May receiving the Bradley Stoughton Award for Young Teachers.

Marcolongo is the fourth Drexel Materials faculty member to be elected as a Fellow of Alpha Sigma Mu. Previous recipients include Professor Antonios Zavaliangos (2012), former Professor Surya Kalidindi (2010), and Professor Richard Knight, who was one of two inaugural inductees in 2009.

Additional honors were presented to Associate Professor Steven May who received the ASM International Bradley Stoughton Award for Young Teachers, alumnus Robert Freed (BS '73) who became an ASM Fellow, and alumnus Fred Schmidt (BS ’68, MS ’70, PhD ‘98) who received the ASM International William Hunt Eisenman award [PDF].

Freed ASM Fellow
Alumnus Robert Freed being inducted as an ASM Fellow.

Schmidt Eisenman Award
Alumnus Fred Schmidt receiving the William Hunt Eisenman award.

Photo credits: Ellen Dallager

In This Article