Drexel CCI Celebrates 2020 and 2021 College Awardees

Group photo of 2020 and 2021 CCI College Awardees at Honors Ceremony
CCI Dean and Isaac L. Auerbach Professor Yi Deng, PhD (left) stands with faculty, professional staff and student award winners during the Oct. 7 CCI Honors Ceremony at 3675 Market.

Drexel University College of Computing & Informatics (CCI) hosted the 2020-21 Honors Ceremony on Thursday, Oct. 7 in its home at 3675 Market Street to celebrate and recognize faculty, professional staff and undergraduate and graduate students for their exceptional achievements during 2020 and 2021.

The event marked the first large, in-person CCI event with faculty, professional staff and students since the COVID-19 pandemic began. Click here to view photos from the event

In his opening remarks, CCI Dean and Isaac L. Auerbach Professor Yi Deng, PhD recognized Professor Xia Lin, PhD, for his extraordinary leadership and service to the College, most recently as Information Science department head.

Information Science Department Head and Professor Andrea Forte, PhD, and Computer Science Department Head and Professor Jeremy Johnson, PhD presented College awards, as listed below:

College Award Recipients – 2020

Outstanding Undergraduate Student
Hunter Heidenreich
Dan Schwartz

Dean’s Student Leadership & Service
Sabah Lala

Student Teaching Excellence Awards
Undergraduate - Stephen Hansen
Graduate - Dan Schoepflin

PhD Research Excellence
Swathi Jagannath

Faculty Teaching Excellence
Thomas Heverin, PhD, Associate Teaching Professor and Associate
Department Head, Undergraduate Affairs, Information Science

Faculty Research Excellence
Geoffrey Mainland, PhD, Associate Professor - Computer Science

Faculty Leadership
Dario Salvucci, PhD, Professor - Computer Science

Professional Staff Leadership
Will Ahern, Interim Assistant Director, Undergraduate Advising

Professional Staff Achievement
Liz Costello, Program Administrator, Research

College Award Recipients – 2021

Outstanding Undergraduate Student
Muneera Cadersa

Outstanding Graduate Student
John Ray Martinez

Dean’s Student Leadership & Service
Sanobar Lala

Student Teaching Excellence Award
Palash Pandey

PhD Research Excellence
Dan Schoepflin

Faculty Teaching Excellence
Colin Gordon, Associate Professor - Computer Science

Faculty Research Excellence
Jane Greenberg, PhD, Alice B. Kroeger Professor - Information Science
Vasilis Gkatzelis, PhD, Assistant Professor - Computer Science

Faculty Leadership
Xia Lin, PhD Professor - Information Science

Professional Staff Leadership
Colleen Cannon, Director of Research Operations
John McNamara, Director of Information Technology

Professional Staff Achievement
Caroline Fritz, Associate Director of Finance & Administration

Innovation Award Recipients 2020-21


1) Mentor Me: Students & Alumni Engaged Together - Brenna Martin, Assistant Director, Faculty Support Services; PhD Programs Manager

With the importance of mentorship being a key factor in an individual’s success, Mentor Me would build an active and engaged community of students and alumni learning together, making personal, supportive connections from the beginning of each individual’s academic journey.

2) Lights! Camera! CCI! - Sabah Lala & Sanobar Lala, Undergraduate Students

“Lights! Camera! CCI!” proposes a dedicated studio to be set up at 3675 Market where students can record their stories through a College-provided video camera, to be shared on the College’s social media channels.

3) Computer Science for All - Saurav Singh, Undergraduate Student

“Computer Science for All” proposes CCI-led workshops on various introductory computer science topics that will be open to all Drexel students, faculty and professional staff, and held bi-weekly in the Quorum.


1) CCI Connect: CCI Research & Opportunity Portal - Stephen Hansen & Vivek Khimani, Undergraduate Students

CCIConnect is a Web portal that would allow faculty, professional staff and students to showcase their research projects, post research openings to which students can apply, and build networking opportunities.

Congratulations to all our award winners!

In This Article

Related News

Contact Us

Have a question? We’re eager to talk with you.

Contact Us