For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Pulse - Fall 2015 Gold Humanism Honor Society Inaugurates Drexel Chapter

A new chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society was established this year at Drexel University College of Medicine by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. The creation of a chapter here signifies to the medical community that Drexel places high value on the interpersonal skills and attitudes that are essential for the highest level of patient care. This honor reflects the College's commitment to humanistic patient care, with faculty, residents and medical students who serve as role models, mentors and leaders in medicine.

During a ceremony last summer, Drexel inducted the first class of students, residents and faculty members into the Gold Humanism Honor Society. Induction is for life. Society members have a responsibility to model, support and advocate for compassionate, patient-centered care throughout their careers. Members must also adhere to the two basic tenets of the society's code of ethics: "First, students must be trustworthy and act with integrity in all spheres of professional life: academics, patient care, clinical research and professional relationships. Second, students must together safeguard the culture of integrity and trustworthiness by encouraging each other to act ethically and by responding appropriately to violations of the Code of Ethics."

Faculty inductees (l-r) Drs. Kahn, Wagner and Reynolds

Faculty inductees (l-r) Drs. Kahn, Wagner and Reynolds

Twenty-four medical students in the Class of 2016 who were nominated by their peers for induction into the society were reviewed for academic eligibility and written essay, and selected by a committee.

Chapters may nominate six role-model residents for induction each year. For schools who participate in the Gold Foundation Student Clinician Ceremony, as Drexel does, the residents who receive the Gold Foundation Humanism & Excellence in Teaching Award become the Honor Society inductees.

Faculty members were chosen for induction into the society by a committee of faculty and administration. At the induction ceremony, faculty inductee James C. Reynolds, MD, was cited for his "kind, gentle bedside manner" and for creating "a welcoming and compassionate environment for residents, students and patients."

Residents Drs. Anupriya Grover, Julia Polk, Tyler Chan, Daniel Bender and Steven Loscalzo

Residents Drs. Anupriya Grover, Julia Polk, Tyler Chan, Daniel Bender and Steven Loscalzo

Faculty inductee David K. Wagner, MD, was recognized for "giving patients his time, giving students his energy, and for his humility." Wagner spoke of a friend, a highly esteemed physician, who said his best instrument was his Tweezerman toenail clippers, which he always carried so he could clip the toenails of elderly patients while listening to them. Paraphrasing Mother Teresa, Wagner said, "We are not here to do great things; we are here to do small things with great love."

S. Benham Kahn, MD, also a faculty inductee, was the ceremony's keynote speaker. He observed that the physician's "interaction with the patient is what keeps the patient going and is the basis for healing." He also emphasized the importance of "how you tell bad news to patients. When bad news is told by a doctor who has a human relationship with the patient, the patient comes away feeling they can do something about their condition."

Following the induction ceremony, the students reviewed the Code of Ethics together and each signed a statement giving their word that they would adhere to the code. Lastly, all took the Hippocratic Oath.

The co-chapter advisers for the Honor Society are Drs. James Reynolds (below, far left) and Steven Rosenzweig (far right), who was inducted as a member at his previous institution.

Gold Humanism Honor Society Inaugurates Drexel Chapter

Arnold P. Gold Foundation Recognition

2015 Humanism & Excellence in Teaching Awardees

The residents who won teaching awards were also inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

Family Medicine
Anupriya Grover, DO, Abington Memorial Hospital

Internal Medicine
Danielle N. Krol, MD*, Hahnemann University Hospital

Obstetrics & Gynecology
Julia P. Polk, MD, Hahnemann University Hospital

Steven M. Loscalzo, MD, St. Christopher's Hospital

Daniel Jeffrey Bender, DO, Friends Hospital

Tyler W. Chan, MD, Hahnemann University Hospital

*Already an Honor Society member

Gold Humanism Honor Society Student Inductees

  • Roozbeh Akhtari
  • Sarah Rebecca Barenbaum
  • Natalie Jo Brzoza
  • Stéphanie Chéry
  • Amanda Michelle Chipman
  • Melanie Dabakis
  • Luke Alexander Gatta
  • Annalyn Marie Gibson
  • Priyanka Gwalani
  • Dustin Stanley Hanos
  • Neha N. Jariwala
  • Jason Yow-Ji Liu
  • Aliza Machefsky
  • Anita Mikkilineni
  • Kaitlin Elizabeth O'Malley
  • Dhruv Pinakin Patel
  • Jenna Lisa Robbins
  • Jennifer Sabo
  • Ingrid Schmiederer
  • Christine Elaine Schultheiss
  • Blake Joseph Schultz
  • Leah Steckler
  • Elizabeth Wilson Tindal
  • Inimfon Udoh

 Back to Top


Pulse is published four times a year for students, faculty, staff, alumni and friends of the College, highlighting innovations in research, clinical practice and education; key events; and accomplishments. News, professional and academic achievements, calendar items and story ideas may be submitted by email to