For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Lynn Yeakel Institute for Women's Health and Leadership Marion Spencer Fay Award

2024 Marion Spencer Fay Award

The nomination period for the 2024 Marion Spencer Fay Award is closed. The honoree will be announced this summer and the Marion Spencer Fay Lecture and Award will be presented in the fall (date and location TBA). Please continue to visit this page for updates.

Please contact Janine Barber at 215.991.8194 or for more information.

Marion Spencer Fay News

April 2024: Marina Picciotto, PhD, the 2020 Marion Spencer Fay honoree, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The academy was founded in 1780 to honor "exeptionally accomplished individuals" and "convenes leaders to examine new ideas, address issues of importance to the nation and the world, and advance the public good." Picciotto is the Charles B. G. Murphy Professor of Psychiatry, and a professor of neuroscience and pharmacology in the Child Study Center at Yale School of Medicine.

About the Marion Spencer Fay Award

Marion Spencer Fay, PhD

The Marion Spencer Fay Award is a national award to honor achievement and excellence in medicine and science and is presented to a woman of distinction, innovation and leadership. Past Marion Spencer Fay Award honorees include Julie Overbaugh, PhD, of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, and Nancy C. Andrews, MD, PhD, dean of Duke University's School of Medicine. Learn more about past honorees.

Marion Spencer Fay, PhD, was dean and president of Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania from 1946 to 1963. The National Board for Women in Medicine established an award in her name in 1963 to recognize her pioneering leadership.

This national award is given annually to a woman physician and/or scientist who has made an exceptionally significant contribution to health care as a practitioner, medical educator, administrator and/or research scientist and who exhibits significant future potential.

Formerly administered by the National Board for Women in Medicine, the award continues under the guidance of the Lynn Yeakel Institute for Women's Health and Leadership of Drexel University College of Medicine, which maintains the traditions of the Woman's Medical College and the Medical College of Pennsylvania that reflect a 160-year legacy of excellence.

  • The award recipient is selected from nominations submitted to a special committee, appointed by the Institute, dedicated to the principles of the Marion Spencer Fay Award.
  • The presentation ceremony is attended by distinguished academic, medical and scientific leaders and the award includes a $10,000 honorarium to support the recipient's work.

 Back to Top