For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Trial by Combat is the first national competition of its kind.

Trial by Combat Past Competitions

Trial by Combat began in 2018. The tournament has drawn elite competitors from the most successful mock trial programs in the country. As just one measure, Trial by Combat competitors have averaged more than one All-American award per person. 

2020 Competition

In 2020, Sonali Mehta (Duke) won the final trial against Sydney Gaskins (UMBC). Watch the final round.

Matt Besman (Ohio State) and Bri Goodchild (Minnesota) were the semifinalists. The other 12 competitors were Steven Becker, Tufts; Josie Bianchi, Stanford; Regina Campbell, Chicago; Julia Greve, Cincinnati; Samuel Gross, Yale; Richard Madden, Rhodes; Elias Neibart, Emory; Daniel Peale, Virginia; Mashell Rahimzadeh, Columbia; Taylor Rich, Florida State; Harsha Sridhar, Georgia Institute of Technology; and Sasha Yusuf, UC Irvine.

2019 Competition

In 2019, Stephen Johnson (University of Cincinnati) won the final trial against Jonathan Kuang (UCLA). Natalie Garson (Boston University) and Sabrina Grandhi (University of Virginia) were the semifinalists. Watch the final round.

The 16 competitors were Mary-Preston Austin, Wheaton College; Elizabeth Bays, Yale University: Regina Campbell, University of Chicago; Daniel Elliott, Rhodes College; Natalie Garson, Boston University; Sydney Gaskins, University of Maryland - Baltimore County; Sabrina Grandhi, University of Virginia; Christopher Grant, Northwood University; Claudine Isaac, New York University; Stephen Johnson, University of Cincinnati; Mike Kleynman, Rutgers University; Jonathan Kuang, University of California, Los Angeles; Jack Seigenthaler, Stanford University: Sarah Stebbins, Georgia Institute of Technology; Steven Torres, Cornell University; and Kyle Westerfer, La Salle University. 

2018 Competition

In 2018, Nick Ramos (NYU) won the final trial against Rachel Sommers (Columbia). Watch the final round

The 16 competitors were Deisy Abarca-Espiritu, University of Rochester; Elizabeth Bays, Yale University; Christopher Grant, Northwood University; Kaitlyn Harper, Northern Illinois University; Stephen Johnson, University of Cincinnati; Mike Kleynman, Rutgers University; Danielle Kunkel, Miami University; Dylan McAuley, University of Richmond; Nick Ramos, New York University; Eric Roytman, The Ohio State University; Jack Seigenthaler, Stanford University; Rachel Sommers, Columbia University; Zeke Starr, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; Sarah Stebbins, Georgia Institute of Technology; Enrico Trevisani, University of Arizona; and Deniz Tunceli, University of Virginia.