Dean Walker Elected to Leadership Position Among Engineering Deans

Drexel Engineering Dean Sharon L. Walker, PhD, has been elected vice chair of the Engineering Deans Council (EDC) of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE).

Dean Sharon Walker
Dean Sharon Walker

The council is a consortium of deans from all the engineering colleges affiliated with ASEE, representing more than 90 percent of all US Engineering Deans. The EDC’s goals include advocating and providing a vision for engineering education and research; serving as a resource to its constituents and the public at large; and articulating and influencing US public policy on engineering education and research. Walker has previously served on the council as a director.

“Drexel Engineering has long been a leader in engineering education, and I am exceedingly proud to continue that tradition by serving on this esteemed committee,” Walker said. “I am especially excited to work with chair Kenneth Ball, a two-time Drexel alumnus who is now Dean of George Mason’s Volgenau School of Engineering.”

In addition to her position as Dean of the College of Engineering, Walker is Distinguished Professor in the Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering and Executive Director of ELATES at Drexel . She also holds courtesy faculty appointments as professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, as well as Distinguished Professor in the Department of Biodiversity, Earth and Environmental Science in the College of Arts and Sciences. She holds a PhD in Environmental Engineering and an MS in Chemical Engineering, both from Yale, and a BS in Environmental Engineering from the University of Southern California.

Dr. Walker is a two-time winner of the Fulbright Fellowship, for which she visited Ben Gurion University of the Negev in Israel from 2009-10; received an NSF Career Award in 2010; and held an ELATES fellowship from 2014-15. She is a Fellow of the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE). She is an active member of the American Chemical Society, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the Association of Women in Science, the Society of Women Engineers, and the Chi Epsilon, Tau Beta Pi, and Golden Key honor societies. Walker’s previous service includes election to the roles of vice chair (2015) and chair (2017) of the prestigious Environmental Nanotechnology Gordon Research Conference, as well as an official with AEESP and with the American Chemical Society’s Colloid and Surface Science Division.

In This Article