Drexel Materials Faculty Receive Provost Awards for Distinguished Teaching and Service

Professor Christopher Weyant is recipient of the Drexel 2021 Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching and A. W. Grosvenor Professor Antonios Zavaliangos is recipient of the Drexel 2021 Harold Myers Award for Distinguished Service.

These two awards are among the Drexel University Provost Awards for Teaching, Scholarship and Professional Service, which allow the University to honor full-time and part-time faculty and professional staff for their demonstrated excellence in serving the educational and scholarly missions of the University.

Christopher Weyant
Christopher Weyant, PhD

The Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching is the most prestigious award given to full-time faculty members who over the years have demonstrated the highest achievements in teaching. Prior to receiving this award, Weyant was recognized by the University for his teaching excellence as a recipient of the Barbara Hornum Teaching Award (2019) and the Evidence-Based Teaching Award in Undergraduate STEM (2020).

Antonio Zavaliangos
Antonio Zavaliangos

The Harold Myers Award for Distinguished Service is given to an administrator, member of the professional staff, or full-time or part-time faculty member who has engaged in service work that has been recognized to be truly significant to the University. Zavaliangos received the award in recognition of over two decades of service to the Department, College and University including as a chair of the Budget and Planning Committee, as a Provost Fellow working with the Office of Planning and Institutional Research, and various strategic planning committees, including the Executive Planning Committee that was worked on the Drexel 2030 strategic plan where he served as the co-chair of the integration subcommittee.

In This Article