Honoring Drexel Materials 2019 Graduates and Awardees


The  Department of Materials Science and Engineering honored its graduates and 2018-2019 departmental awardees at its annual commencement dinner at the University Club on Wednesday, June 12, 2019. The College of Engineering held its commencement event on Thursday, June 13 at 1:00 pm at the Mann Center, and Drexel Materials graduating senior Isabella Mendoza gave the undergraduate commencement address. Finally, a University-wide commencement ceremony took place on Friday, June 14 at 7:30 pm at Citizens Bank Park.

Department of Materials Science and Engineering Awards

Outstanding Research Award

Hao Cheng

Outstanding Teaching Award

Yury Gogotsi

Outstanding Service Award

Richard Knight

Outstanding Faculty Innovation Award

Michele Marcolongo

Outstanding Staff Award

Sarit Kunz

Outstanding Graduate Student Award

Mallory Clites
Yuan-Ping (Peter) Li

Outstanding Graduate Innovation Award

Chelsea Knittel

Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award

Katrina Johnston
Natalia Noriega Pedraza

Outstanding Undergraduate Innovation Award

Rebecca Archacki
Grayson Deysher
Emily Herbert

Degree Recipients

Doctor of Philosophy in Materials Science and Engineering

Alicia Susanne Busenius-Kriete
“Novel Biomimetic Proteoglycans for Molecular Engineering of the Urethra for Treatment of Stress Urinary Incontinence”
Supervising Professor:  Michele Marcolongo

Mallory Christine Clites
“Chemical Pre-intercalation Synthesis Approach for Improved Energy Storage Performance of Layered Oxide Cathodes”
Supervising Professor:  Ekaterina Pomerantseva

Zhiyuan Fan
“Cell Membrane-Derived Materials”
Supervising Professor:  Hao Cheng

Amanda Huon
“Investigating Quadruple Perovskites:  Synthesis and Characterization of CaMn7O12”
Supervising Professor:  Steven J. May

Chelsea Elizabeth Knittel
“Tools for Prediction and Understanding of Self-Folding Behavior of Knitted Textiles”
Supervising Professors:  Genevieve Dion and Caroline Schauer

Sankalp Sudhir Kota
“Synthesis and Characterization of the MAB Phases:  Ternary, Nanolayered Transition Metal Borides”
Supervising Professor:  Michel W. Barsoum

Andrew Charles Lang
“Physical Defects and Degradation Mechanisms of GaN-based Electronic Devices Explored by Transmission Electron Microscopy”
Supervising Professor:  Mitra Taheri

Evan R. Phillips
“Cartilage Molecular Engineering Using Biomimetic Proteoglycans”
Supervising Professor:  Michele S. Marcolongo

Jovana Radojevic
“Mechanical Properties of Compacted Powder Mixtures with a Hygroscopic Component:  General Ideas and Special Cases”
Supervising Professor:  Antonios Zavaliangos

Patrick Stuart Urbankowski
“Synthesis of Two-Dimensional Transition Metal Nitrides”
Supervising Professor:  Yury Gogotsi

Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Bilen Akuzum
Tal Barzeski
Alicia Susanne Busenius-Kriete
Abraham Calvin
Helen Chiang
Mallory Clites
Sarah Lynn Culbert
Sarah Emily Gleeson
Kathleen McInerney
Cassandra Marie Pate
Prem Dilip Patel
Farhaan Husain Rizvi
Renee Lauren Timmins
Nicholas J. Trainor
Alexandria Ruth Will-Cole

Bachelor of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Rebecca Ann Archacki
Megan P. Chatham
Christopher Robert Conley
Sarah Lynn Culbert (Cum Laude)
Grayson Brouse Deysher (Cum Laude)
Samantha Fontaine Dorman
Omar Nabir Elkassabany
James Frishkoff
Connor Evan Gill
Luisa Larissa Arnaldo Gomes
Alexander R. Grimaldi
Andrew C. Heitner
Carter Lawrence Henderson (Magna Cum Laude)
Emily Mary Herbert
Katrina Johnston
Noah E. Kortz
Maria Trigone Lefchak
Kyra A. Mele
Maria Isabella Francesca Mendoza
Maria Natalia Noriega Pedraza (Cum Laude)
Christine Mahinay Peifer
Jeremy Raphael Pitock
Alexander William Sherwood (Summa Cum Laude)
Renee Lauren Timmins (Cum Laude)

In This Article