For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

ELAM Announces 2019-2020 Class

May 13, 2019

The Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine® (ELAM) Program for Women at Drexel University College of Medicine is pleased to announce the selection of its 25th anniversary class of fellows.

ELAM® is the only longitudinal program in North America dedicated to preparing women for senior leadership roles in schools of medicine, dentistry, public health and pharmacy. The program is dedicated to developing the professional and personal skills required to lead and manage in today's complex health care environment, with special attention to the unique challenges facing women in leadership positions. The ELAM program has been specially developed for senior women faculty at the associate or full professor level who demonstrate the greatest potential for assuming executive leadership positions at academic health centers within the next five years.

The effectiveness of ELAM's distinctive approach to leadership preparation is broadly recognized within the academic health community. ELAM alumnae number over 1,000 and serve in leadership positions at 259 academic health centers around the world. ELAM carries on the legacy of advancing women in medicine begun by the Female Medical College of Pennsylvania, the nation’s first women’s medical school and a predecessor of Drexel University College of Medicine where ELAM is hosted.

“We’re excited to welcome 61 fellows into the 25th anniversary class of ELAM,” says Nancy D. Spector, MD, executive director of ELAM. “The women are outstanding leaders who are capable of making critical systemic change in their institutions. We’re looking forward to celebrating our 25th year with them and our entire community of alumnae, institutions and supporters.”

In order to be accepted into the program, each fellow must be nominated and supported by the dean or other senior official of her institution. ELAM continues to cultivate strong partnerships with participating institutions throughout the year-long fellowship. One aspect of this relationship is the curricular requirement to conduct an Institutional Action Project, developed in collaboration with the fellow's dean or other senior official. These action projects are designed to address an institutional or departmental need or priority. “We are extremely excited to see the impact these women will have on their institutions as they work through the ELAM curriculum and develop their action projects,” explains Spector. “The projects the fellows conduct not only help them understand the challenges facing academic health centers and the skills a leader must possess to address these challenges, but also often result in concrete changes at their institutions.”

The work for this incoming class begins in May with online assignments and community-building activities that continue through the end of the program in April 2020. Fellows begin the first of three week-long, in-residence sessions when they meet for the first time at the Chubb Conference Center in Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania, on September 14, 2019.

ELAM Class of 2020

Cory Abate-Shen, PhD
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons

Lilian M. Abbo, MD
University of Miami
Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine

Ngozi F. Anachebe, PharmD, MD
Morehouse School of Medicine

Ann Louise Anderson Berry, MD, PhD
University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Medicine

Evelyn Young Anthony, MD
Wake Forest University School of Medicine

Anuja Kandanatt Antony, MD, MPH, MBA
Rush Medical College of Rush University

April Dawn Armstrong, MD
Pennsylvania State University
College of Medicine

Maryam M. Asgari, MD, MPH
Harvard Medical School

Karen Ballen, MD
University of Virginia School of Medicine

Kathleen Carole Barnes, PhD
University of Colorado School of Medicine Anschutz Medical Campus

Julie E. Bauman, MD, MPH
University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson

Jerica Mohlman Berge, PhD, MPH
University of Minnesota Medical School

Stephanie Vanessa Blank, MD
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Jennifer Boardman, PhD
Geisinger Commonwealth College of Medicine

Rachel Joy Buchsbaum, MD
Tufts Medical Center

Nichole Carlson, PhD
University of Colorado School of Public Health

Chiquita Collins, PhD
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine

Deborah Conway, MD
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine

Christine Makosky Daley, PhD, SM, MA
University of Kansas School of Medicine

Deborah Julia DeWaay, MD
University of South Florida Health Morsani College of Medicine

Penelope Jayne Duerksen-Hughes, PhD
Loma Linda University School of Medicine

Angela Michelle Ellison, MD, MSc
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Paula Ferrada, MD
Virginia Commonwealth University
School of Medicine

Sharon Hermes Giordano, MD, MPH
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Lisa Halvorson, MD
National Institutes of Health

Andrea Hayes-Jordan, MD
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil
University of Michigan Medical School

Yoon Kang, MD
Weill Cornell Medical College

Amy J.H. Kind, MD, PhD
University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Medicine and Public Health

Robyn Sue Klein, MD, PhD
Washington University School of Medicine

Purnima Kumar, DDS, PhD
The Ohio State University College of Dentistry

Evanthia Lalla, DDS, MS
Columbia University College of Dental Medicine

B. Paige Lawrence, PhD
University of Rochester
School of Medicine and Dentistry

Men-Jean Lee, MD
University of Hawai'i John A. Burns School of Medicine

Elizabeth E. Leenellett, MD
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine

Amber Luong, MD, PhD
University of Texas Medical School at Houston

Megan R. Mahoney, MD
Stanford University School of Medicine

Donna Martin, MD, PhD
University of Michigan Medical School

Nicole Streiff McCoin, MD
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Peggy McNaull, MD
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine

Kathy Durham Miller, MD
Indiana University School of Medicine

Jocelyn Ann Mitchell-Williams, MD, PhD
Cooper Medical School of Rowan University

Tiffany Anne Moore Simas, MD, MPH, MEd
University of Massachusetts Medical School

Nancy Alice Murphy, MD
University of Utah School of Medicine

Kristen J. Nadeau, MD, MS
University of Colorado School of Medicine Anschutz Medical Campus

Mooyeon Oh-Park, MD, MS
Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Elizabeth J Parks, PhD
University of Missouri-Columbia
School of Medicine

Melissa Jeanne Perry, ScD, MHS
Milken Institute School of Public Health at the George Washington University

Laura Senunas Phieffer, MD
The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

Kristina Reber, MD
Nationwide Children's Hospital

Michelle Robinson, DMD, MA
University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Dentistry

Mithu Sen, MD
University of Western Ontario Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry

Judith Seline Simms-Cendan, MD
University of Central Florida College of Medicine

Geeta K. Swamy, MD
Duke University School of Medicine

Renee M. Turchi, MD, MPH
Drexel University College of Medicine

Cornelia Ulrich, MS, PhD
University of Utah School of Medicine

Louise C. Walter, MD
University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine

Marjorie C. Wang, MD, MPH
Medical College of Wisconsin

Rachel Anne Whitmer, PhD
University of California, Davis, School of Medicine

Pamela Matten Williams, MD
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine

Wendi Rebecca Wills El-Amin, MD
Southern Illinois University School of Medicine

 Back to Top