For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Renee Amoore to Receive 2016 Woman One Award

October 5, 2015

Renee Amoore, 2016 Woman One Award Recipient
Renee Amoore, 2016 Woman One Award Recipient

The Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership at Drexel University College of Medicine will present the 2016 Woman One Award to entrepreneur and health care advocate Renee Amoore.

“We are so pleased to recognize Renee for her wide-ranging commitment to the Philadelphia community, including her leadership role at Drexel,” said Lynn Yeakel, director of the Institute.

The award will be presented at the 14th annual Woman One ceremony on Monday, April 25, 2016, at the Rittenhouse Hotel in Philadelphia.

The Woman One program annually honors an outstanding woman for her leadership in the Philadelphia community and raises scholarship funds for talented, underrepresented women in medicine studying at Drexel University College of Medicine.

Amoore is the founder and president of The Amoore Group, Inc., three companies that provide a wide variety of health care and educational services including public relations, corporate consulting, employment training, and children and family services. She is a Drexel University trustee and a member of the University’s Executive Board, and is actively involved in many professional and community organizations including the Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce, Women Against MS, and the Take the Lead Committee for Girls Scouts of Eastern Pennsylvania. Amoore is also the chair of the Joint Board at Saints Memorial Baptist Church and serves as deputy chairman of the Republican Party of Pennsylvania. 

She has received numerous honors including the Artemis Award from the Euro-American Women's Council in Greece, the Evelyn McPhail Award for Republican Activist of the Year, the NAACP Award for Community Services in Education, the Madam C.J. Walker Award from the Coalition of 100 Black Women, the Women of Spirit Award from Women Against MS, and the Paradigm Award. 

“Woman One is a phenomenal program. I am blessed and highly favored to be selected as the 2016 honoree,” Amoore said. “The Woman One scholars are a special group of underrepresented women studying medicine at Drexel University, who are selfless and understand what hard work and perseverance can accomplish. Like myself, they have made a commitment to provide and ensure that the undeserved population receives custom-made health care.”

Dareen Elgindi and Ivonne Martinez are this year’s Woman One scholars. The students were selected for their academic achievements, leadership qualities and community service. Both Elgindi, who was born in Sudan, and Martinez, who came to the U.S. from Colombia, have expressed a desire to practice medicine in underserved communities after graduation. 

In 13 years, the Woman One program has raised more than $2.5 million and has supported scholarships for 29 current and former scholars at Drexel University College of Medicine. Each of the Woman One scholars receives $100,000 in tuition support over four years. Past Woman One Award recipients include Estelle Richman (2003), Leslie Anne Miller (2004), Dawn Staley (2005), Suzanne Roberts (2006), Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD (2007), Stephanie Naidoff (2008), Jane Pepper (2009), Eliana Papadakis (2010), Sara Manzano-Díaz (2011), Dianne Semingson (2012), Lisa Thomas Laury (2013), Laurada Byers (2014), and Lynne Honickman (2015).