For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Annual Graduate Student Awards

May 12, 2015

2015 Graduate Student Awards

The Graduate Student Awards recognize excellence in teaching and outstanding service to the students of Drexel University College of Medicine’s Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and Professional Studies. The nominees and their students recently gathered together at Le Meridien in Center City Philadelphia for the annual awards banquet.

Elisabeth Van Bockstaele, PhD, dean of the Graduate School hosted the event and welcomed attendees during her opening remarks. Daniel Schidlow, MD, Annenberg Dean of the College of Medicine, also made remarks. Students presented the winners with their awards.

See a photo album from the event.

The 2015 Graduate Student Award recipients are:

Division of Biomedical Sciences
Award for Excellence in Teaching
Paul McGonigle, PhD, professor, Department of Pharmacology & Physiology
Presented by Lauren D. Bailey, Biochemistry

Division of Pre-medical & Pre-health Programs
Award for Excellence in Teaching
Karen (Chava) Hurley, PhD, assistant professor
Presented by Matthew Purdy, Interdisciplinary Health Sciences

Award for Excellence in Mentoring
Catherine Tamse, PhD, assistant professor
Presented by Tan Duong, ’13 Medical Student

Division of Interdisciplinary & Career-oriented Programs
Award for Excellence in Teaching
Nancy Minugh-Purvis, PhD, associate professor, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
Presented by Mark Vincent Olorvida, Pathologists’ Assistant

Award for Excellence in Mentoring
Richard Huneke, DVM, MPH, associate professor, Department of Microbiology & Immunology
Presented by Briana Wilson, Master of Laboratory Animal Science

Moses Williams, PhD, was given a Distinguished Service Award for his work in graduate education, particularly in the area of medical student selection, and for his work with STEMPREP, a program that introduces young students to biomedical research. Also announced at the banquet was the creation of a new annual graduate award named for Barry Waterhouse, PhD, vice dean of the Graduate School, honoring him for his support and dedication to the establishment of the school.


Back to Top