For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Nancy C. Andrews to Receive 2013 Marion Spencer Fay Award

April 30, 2013

Drexel University College of Medicine’s Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership is pleased to announce that the 2013 Marion Spencer Fay Award recipient will be Nancy C. Andrews, MD, PhD, dean, Duke University School of Medicine.

The Marion Spencer Fay Award, now in its 50th year, is presented annually to a woman physician and/or scientist who has made an exceptionally significant contribution to health care as a practitioner, medical educator, administrator and/or research scientist and who exhibits significant future potential.

Dean Andrews is being honored for her research in the study of iron metabolism; her contributions at the local, national and international level in clinical medicine, education, training, research and community service; and her impressive leadership credentials.

Dean Andrews will be honored in Philadelphia on Friday, September 27, 2013, in conjunction with the 20th anniversary celebration of the Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership. She will deliver the annual Marion Spencer Fay Award lecture and receive the award, which includes a $10,000 honorarium.

“At the Institute, we are particularly pleased because the words ‘health’ and ‘leadership’ are in our title and are prominent parts of Dean Andrews’ outstanding credentials,” said Lynn H. Yeakel, director of the Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership. “Because of her accomplishments in both areas, she emerged from a brilliant assembly of nominees from across the nation.”

Dean Andrews received her BS and MS degrees in molecular biophysics and biochemistry from Yale University. She earned her PhD from MIT (in biology) along with her MD from Harvard Medical School. She completed her residency and fellowship in pediatrics and hematology/oncology at Children’s Hospital Boston and the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

Dean Andrews spent her professional career at Harvard before she moved to Duke. She was the George Richards Minot Professor of Pediatrics, senior associate in Medicine at Children’s Hospital, and a distinguished physician of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Dean Andrews was director of the Harvard-MIT MD-PhD Program from 1999 to 2003 and dean for basic sciences and graduate studies at Harvard Medical School from 2003 to 2007. She was also an investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute for 13 years.

"I feel deeply honored to receive the 2013 Marion Spencer Fay Award.” said Dean Andrews. “Dr. Fay was a remarkable pioneer, scientist and leader, and I am thrilled to be a part of celebrating her legacy.”

Marion Spencer Fay, PhD, was dean and president of Woman’s Medical College of Pennsylvania (a predecessor institution of Drexel University College of Medicine) from 1946 to 1963. The National Board for Women in Medicine established this award in her name in 1963 to recognize her pioneering leadership. Drexel University College of Medicine maintains the traditions of the Woman’s Medical College and the Medical College of Pennsylvania that reflect a 160-year legacy of excellence.

Past Marion Spencer Fay Award honorees include Nancy Adler, PhD, from the University of California, San Francisco and Julie Overbaugh, PhD, of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle.

 Back to Top