For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Discovery Day 2013 Winners

October 10, 2013

Alumni, faculty, staff, students and guests gathered to view the more than 300 posters at Discovery 2013.  The October 3 event covered such topics as infectious diseases, cancer biology and many more.

This year’s keynote speaker, Donald Ingber, MD, PhD, founding director of the Wyss Institute, and the Judah Folkman Professor of Vascular Biology at Harvard Medical School and Boston's Children's Hospital, presented "Programmable Nanotherapeutics and Organs on Chips."

Discovery 2013 poster and platform winners were:

Outstanding Platform Presentation/Senior Graduate Students
1st place - Olga Mozgova, Neuroscience
2nd place - Daniel Chandler, Neuroscience
3rd place - Tim Beck, (MD/PhD student) Molecular & Cell Biology & Genetics

Outstanding Senior Graduate Student Poster
1st place - Kelley Healey, Microbiology & Immunology
2nd place - Gokul Swaminathan, Microbiology & Immunology
3rd place - Amrit Misra, (MD/PhD student) Biomedical Engineering
Honorable mentions:
   Divya Sagar, Neuroscience
   Monit Sehgal, Biology
   Kate Beishline, Biochemistry
   Chelsea Burgwin, Molecular & Cell Biology & Genetics

Outstanding Junior Graduate Student Poster
1st place - Kristina Shahriari, (MD/PhD student) Pharmacology & Physiology
2nd place - Andrew Matamoros, Molecular & Cell Biology & Genetics
3rd place - Lindsay Festa, Pharmacology & Physiology
Honorable mention:
   Asma Ashraf, Drug Discovery & Development

Outstanding Postdoctoral Fellows Poster
1st place - Ryan Eberwine, Microbiology & Immunology
2nd place TIE - Marguerite McDonald, Pharmacology & Physiology
2nd place TIE - Dawei Cai, Microbiology & Immunology, Institute for Biotechnology & Virology Research

Outstanding Clinical Resident/Fellow Research Poster
1st place - Shailendra Singh, Drexel University College of Medicine
2nd place - Fizza Jaffery, Surgery, Drexel University College of Medicine
3rd place - Aswin Mathew, Medicine, Drexel University College of Medicine

Outstanding Clinical Resident/Fellow Case Studies and Community Projects Poster
1st place - Meghan Berkenstock, Ophthalmology
2nd place - Neil Robertson, Surgery
3rd place - Swarnalatha Kanneganti, Easton Hospital

Outstanding Medical Student Poster
1st place - Ronald Paranal, Drexel University
2nd place TIE - Ali Naqvi, Neurobiology & Anatomy
2nd place TIE - Sravanthi Koduri, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Honorable mention:
   Sonia Shah

Outstanding Research Assistant Poster
1st place - Vladimir Limonnik, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
2nd place - Daniel Quiros Molina, Neurobiology & Anatomy

Outstanding Undergraduate Poster
1st place - Mary-Katharine McMullen, University of Pennsylvania
2nd place - Matthew McBride, Drexel University College of Arts & Sciences
3rd place - Kelsey Anderson, Drexel University College of Arts & Sciences

There were also faculty awards presented. They are as follows:

L.M. Bill Stephenson Lecture Award
Donald E. Ingber, MD, PhD, Keynote Speaker

Basic Research Scientist Award
Ramesh Raghupathi, PhD, Neurobiology & Anatomy

Young Scientist Award
Rodrigo España, PhD, Neurobiology & Anatomy
Michele Kutzler, PhD, Medicine, Infectious Diseases, Microbiology & Immunology

Outstanding Contribution to Discovery Award
Barry Waterhouse, PhD, Neurobiology & Anatomy

Graduate Citation Award
James Burns, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

Bondi Award (Continuing Student)
Gokul Swaminathan, Microbiology & Immunology

 Back to Top