For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

National Leadership Program Names New Class of Fellows

April 17, 2013

The Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine® (ELAM) Program at Drexel University College of Medicine is pleased to announce the selection of its 2013-2014 class of fellows.

This is the 19th incoming class for ELAM®, the only program in North America dedicated to preparing women for senior leadership roles in academic health science institutions, where they enhance institutional leadership diversity while contributing to organizational strategy and innovation.

Upon completion of the one-year fellowship in May 2014, the 54 members of this class will join a community of highly accomplished leaders. Over 800 alumnae around the world serve in a variety of leadership positions including department chairs, research center directors, deans and college presidents as well as chief executives in health care and accrediting organizations.

"The alumnae are key to the success of ELAM's mission," said Diane Magrane, MD, director of Drexel's International Center for Executive Leadership in Academics, which supports the program. "I am pleased to hear how, in many of our medical, dental and public health schools, the alumnae are not only in strong leadership positions, but also are collaborating to prepare and support their school's fellow as she enters this intensive year of on-the-job study. In this way, the school makes the most of the investment in its faculty members' ELAM participation."

Each fellow is supported by the dean or other senior official of her institution in her nomination for the program and continued mentorship. One aspect of this relationship is the curricular requirement to conduct an Institutional Action Project, developed in collaboration with the senior leadership. These action projects are designed to address a strategic institutional priority. Magrane explains, "The fellows' projects not only help them understand the challenges facing academic health centers and the skills a leader must possess to address these challenges, but also often result in concrete, positive changes at their institutions."

The work for this incoming class begins in May with online assignments and community-building activities that continue through the end of the program in May 2014. Fellows begin the first of three week-long, in-residence sessions when they meet for the first time at the ACE Conference Center in Lafayette Hill, Pa., on September 28, 2013.

2013-2014 ELAM Fellows

Marsha S. Anderson, MD
University of Colorado School of Medicine

Gladys Maria Ayala, MD, MPH
New York Medical College

Lynne Taylor Bemis, PhD
University of Minnesota Medical School

Lori A. Boardman, MD, ScM
University of Central Florida College of Medicine

Maria Elena Bottazzi, PhD
Baylor College of Medicine

Diane Wolf Braza, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin

Yvette Calderon, MD
Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University

Ruth C. Carlos, MD
University of Michigan Medical School

Mercedes Renee Carnethon, PhD
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Millicent King Channell, DO
University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey School of Osteopathic Medicine

Linda Chaudron, MD
University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry

Susan Chubinskaya, PhD
Rush Medical College of Rush University

Lorraine M. Conroy, ScD
University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health

Cynthia Elizabeth Dunbar, MD
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

Francesca Colecraft Dwamena, MD
Michigan State University College of Human Medicine

Helen Link Egger, MD
Duke University School of Medicine

Dee E. Fenner, MD
University of Michigan Medical School

Digna Saunders Forbes, MD
Meharry Medical College School of Medicine

Jeanne-Marie Guise, MD, MPH
Oregon Health and Science University School of Medicine

Barbara L. Hempstead, MD, PhD
Weill Cornell Medical College

Cherri D. Hobgood, MD
Indiana University School of Medicine

Debra E. Houry, MD, MPH
Emory University School of Medicine

Denise Marie Hynes, PhD, MPH, RN
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine

Sharon K. Inouye, MD, MPH
Harvard Medical School

Beth Diane Kirkpatrick, MD
University of Vermont College of Medicine

Anh Dao Le, DDS, PhD
University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine

Janice S. Lee, DDS, MD, MS
University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry

Sharon S. Lehman, MD
Jefferson Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University

Lorelei Anne Lingard, PhD
University of Western Ontario Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry

Jennifer Katherine Lodge, PhD
Washington University School of Medicine

Ambika Mathur, PhD
Wayne State University School of Medicine

Sarah E. Millar, PhD
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Eileen Marie Moser, MD
Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine

Leigh Neumayer, MD, MS
University of Utah School of Medicine

Anuradha Paranjape, MD, MPH
Temple University School of Medicine

Tassy Parker, PhD, RN
University of New Mexico School of Medicine

Elizabeth Kimberli Peck, MD
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine

Irina Petrache, MD
Indiana University School of Medicine

Ismene L. Petrakis, MD
Yale University School of Medicine

Carla M. Pugh, MD, PhD
University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Medicine and Public Health

Jane Frances Reckelhoff, PhD
University of Mississippi School of Medicine

Sheila Riggs, DDS, DMSc
University of Minnesota School of Dentistry

Monica A. Shaw, MD
University of Louisville School of Medicine

Elizabeth Ann Shenkman, PhD
University of Florida College of Medicine

Melissa Andrea Simon, MD, MPH
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Maureen A. Smith, MD, PhD, MPH
University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Medicine and Public Health

Anna Spagnoli, MD
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine

Tamara L. Thomas, MD
Loma Linda University School of Medicine

Martha Smith Tingen, PhD
Georgia Regents University Medical College of Georgia

Debra Beth Waldron, MD, MPH
The University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine

Leslie Renee Walker-Harding, MD
University of Washington School of Medicine

Karen Patricia Williams, PhD
Michigan State University College of Human Medicine

Yolanda H. Wimberly, MD, MSc
Morehouse School of Medicine

Shanta M. Zimmer, MD
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

 Back to Top