For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

ELATE Announces 2013-2014 Class of Fellows

April 17, 2013

ELATE at Drexel®, a collaborative project of Drexel University and Drexel University College of Medicine, is pleased to announce the selection of its 2013-14 class of fellows.

The second incoming class for ELATE at Drexel includes 18 experienced and diverse women faculty in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) fields. They come from a range of universities and colleges across the country, many with global experience. Nearly half have experience with leadership at levels of center directors, department chairs, and associate deans. Each was nominated by her dean or provost and will contribute to institutional initiatives as she expands her leadership skills.

“We are extremely excited to launch a new year of the ELATE program and very pleased with the response of university leaders who support the time and costs of this very intensive work of leadership,” said Diane Magrane, executive director of Drexel’s International Center for Executive Leadership in Academics and ELATE fellowship director. “Most importantly, the deans and provosts have committed to mentoring the fellows and opening doors at the highest levels of leadership in their organizations. This response bodes well for the future of academic STEM leadership.”

The program focuses on increasing personal and professional leadership effectiveness, leading and managing change initiatives within their institutions, using strategic finance and resource management to enhance the missions of their organizations, and creating a network of exceptional women who bring organizational perspectives and deep personal capacity to the institutions and society they serve. Facilitated by leaders in the fields of STEM research and leadership development, the curriculum includes classroom lessons and activities, online instruction and discussion, and on-the-job application at each fellow’s home institution.

The fellowship year concludes with the completion of an Institutional Action Project, developed in collaboration with the fellow’s dean or provost. These action projects are not only designed to address an institutional or departmental need or priority, but also help the fellows understand the challenges institutions face and the skills a leader must possess in order to address these challenges.

The work for this incoming class begins in May with online assignments and community-building activities, and the program will conclude in March 2014 with a symposium organized around their projects and graduation ceremonies attended by their deans and other university leaders. Fellows begin the first of three week-long, in-residence sessions when they meet for the first time at the ACE Conference Center in Lafayette Hill, PA, on July 31, 2013.

2013-2014 ELATE at Drexel Fellows

Alexis R. Abramson, PhD
Case Western Reserve University Case School of Engineering

Jennifer I. Brand, PhD
University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Engineering

Naomi C. Chesler, PhD
University of Wisconsin-Madison College of Engineering

Alisa M. Clyne, PhD
Drexel University College of Engineering

Molly M. Gribb, PhD
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Julie M. Hasenwinkel, PhD
Syracuse University L.C. Smith College of Engineering and Computer Science

Kimberly D. Kendricks, PhD
Central State University College of Science and Engineering

Kristi L. Kiick, PhD
University of Delaware College of Engineering

Margaret J. Kupferle, PhD, PE
University of Cincinnati College of Engineering and Applied Science

Diana Marculescu, PhD
Carnegie Mellon University Carnegie Institute of Technology

Janice R. Naegele, PhD
Wesleyan University College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Ratna Naik, PhD
Wayne State University

Elena N. Naumova, PhD
Tufts University School of Engineering

Patricia A. Nava, PhD, PE
University of Texas at El Paso College of Engineering

Margery Overton, PhD
North Carolina State University College of Engineering

Anne Marie Robertson, PhD
University of Pittsburgh Swanson School of Engineering

Hong Z. Tan, PhD
Purdue University College of Engineering

Sara J. Wadia-Fascetti, PhD
Northeastern University College of Engineering

 Back to Top