ELATES Class of 2019-2020

The ELATES at Drexel Class of 2019-2020 included 23 women faculty from 20 different institutions across the US and Canada. Each nominated by her dean or provost, they are leaders in biology; computer and information sciences; geology; mathematics; and diverse engineering disciplines. Each was nominated by her dean or provost and will contribute to institutional change initiatives as she expands her leadership skills.

Koren A. Bedeau, PhD, vice provost for academic programs and strategic initiatives and executive director of ELATES at Drexel, said, “We are thrilled to welcome another group of exceptional women leaders. Each new class brings unique experiences and perspectives that add value to the program and expands the national network of leaders and supporters of women in academic STEM leadership.”

M. Brian Blake, PhD, executive vice president and provost, expressed his continued commitment to the program. “Drexel University is committed to advancing women in STEM academia and I am so grateful to the administrative leaders who partner with us as Fellows’ mentors. The support and guidance of the sponsoring institution is key to increasing ELATES’ impact across the country.”

2019-2020 ELATES at Drexel Fellows

Kristine Bauer, PhD
University of Calgary

Danielle S. W. Benoit, PhD
University of Rochester

Sibani Lisa Biswal, PhD
Rice University

Grisselle Centeno, PhD
Florida Polytechnic University

Chrysanthe Demetry, PhD
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Elena S. Di Martino, PhD
University of Calgary

Janice Evans, PhD
Purdue University

Elizabeth M. C. Hillman, PhD
Columbia University

Liping Huang, PhD
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Yan Huang, PhD
University of North Texas

Lizy Kurian John, PhD
Univeristy of Texas at Austin

Rachel Garshick Kleit, PhD
The Ohio State University

Leslie Elise Lamberson, PhD
Colorado School of Mines

Julie C. Liu, PhD
Purdue University

Kathleen Melde, PhD
University of Arizona

Shirley Papuga, PhD
Wayne State University

Margaret F. Pinnell, PhD
University of Dayton

Lori Pollock, PhD
University of Delaware

Robin Marie Queen, PhD
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Leslie E. Sieburth, PhD, FACSM
University of Utah

Amy L. Throckmorton, PhD
Drexel University

Maya Ayanna Trotz, PhD
University of South Florida

Shu Yang, PhD
University of Pennsylvania


Contact Us


Application Portal

Applications for the 2024-2025 ELATES fellowship year are open now until February 1, 2024.

Access the application portal to apply or to recommend or nominate a Fellow.

Application Portal