ELATES Class of 2020-2021

The ELATES at Drexel Class of 2020-2021 included 30 women faculty from 22 different institutions across the US and Canada. Each nominated by her dean or provost, they are leaders in biology, biochemistry; computer and information sciences; food sciences; geoscience; and diverse engineering disciplines.

Erin McNamara Horvat, PhD, senior vice provost for faculty advancement and undergraduate affairs and executive director of ELATES, said, “I am thrilled to welcome another group of exceptional women to ELATES. Each new class brings unique experiences and perspectives that add value to the program and expands the national network of leaders and supporters of women in academic STEM leadership. The whole ELATES team looks forward to welcoming you and walking with you on your leadership journey.”

2020-2021 ELATES at Drexel Fellows

Nazanin Bassiri-Gharb, PhD
Georgia Institute of Technology

Burçin Becerik-Gerber, PhD
University of Southern California

Sanjukta Bhanja, PhD
University of South Florida

Cheryl Bodnar, PhD
Rowan University

Rachel Brennan, PhD
Pennsylvania State University

Jennifer Collins, PhD
University of South Florida

Shelly Gulati, PhD
University of the Pacific

Smiti Gupta, PhD
Wayne State University

Wendy Hanna-Rose, PhD
Pennsylvania State University

Simi Hoque, PhD
Drexel University

Vandana Janeja, PhD
University of Maryland Baltimore County

Hai Li, PhD
Duke University

Jingjing Li, PhD
Pennsylvania State University

Kathy Lu, PhD
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Allison MacKay, PhD
The Ohio State University

Christine Masters, PhD
Pennsylvania State University 

Kathleen Melde, PhD
The University of Arizona

Junko Munakata Marr, PhD
Colorado School of Mines

Zoubeida Ounaies, PhD
Pennsylvania State University

Lisa Parrillo-Chapman, PhD
North Carolina State University at Raleigh

Kathrin Plath, PhD
University of California, Los Angeles

Yue Qi, PhD
Brown University

Afsaneh Rabiei, PhD
North Carolina State University at Raleigh

Reeta P. Rao, PhD
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Iris Rivero, PhD
Rochester Institute of Technology

Kelly Ann Salyards, PhD
Bucknell University

Preeti Sivasankar, PhD
Purdue University at West Lafayette

Gymama Slaughter, PhD
Old Dominion University

Lisa Kay Spainhour, PhD
Florida State University

Qiao Sun, PhD
University of Calgary


Contact Us


Application Portal

Applications for the 2024-2025 ELATES fellowship year are open now until February 1, 2024.

Access the application portal to apply or to recommend or nominate a Fellow.

Application Portal