ELATES Class of 2023-2024

The ELATES at Drexel Class of 2023-2024 is a prestigious cohort of 38 faculty members from 34 different institutions across the U.S. and Canada. Leaders in biology, computer and information sciences, geology, mathematics and engineering, each Fellow was nominated by their dean or provost and has significant administrative experience on top of their scholarly accomplishments.

2023-2024 ELATES at Drexel Fellows

Alice Alipour
Associate Professor, Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering and Cerwick Faculty Fellow
Iowa State University

Akua Asa-Awuku
Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Engineering University of Maryland at College Park

Holly Attenborough
Assistant Provost and Associate Professor of Mathematics
University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Cassandra Birrenkott
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Glencora Borradaile
Associate Dean for Graduate Programs, Interim Associate Dean of Faculty & Staff Advancement, and Professor of Computer Science
Oregon State University

Kavitha Chandra
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Affairs, Francis College of Engineering
University of Massachusetts Lowell

Carmen Cioc
Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering Technology
University of Toledo

Monica Cox
Distinguished Professor of Engineering
Ohio State University

Carmen Gomes
Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Iowa State University

Connie Hargrave
Associate Dean for Equity and Engagement
Iowa State University

Susannah Howe
Director of the Design Clinic and Senior Lecturer in Engineering, Junior Class Dean
Smith College

Paulina Jaramillo
Professor of Engineering and Public Policy
Carnegie Mellon University

Kim Johnston
Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning and Associate Professor of Engineering
University of Calgary

Lydia Kavraki
Noah Harding Professor of Computer Science, Professor of Bioengineering, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Director, The Ken Kennedy Institute
Rice University

Nicole Key
Associate Head for Graduate Studies, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Professor of Aeronautics & Astronautics
Purdue University

Kim Lewis
Associate Dean for Research, Graduate Programs, and Natural Sciences
Howard University

Yan Li
Professor of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering and Postdoctoral Fellow Director
Florida State University

Qilin Li
Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Co-Director, NEWT Center
Rice University

Luna Lu
Associate Dean of Faculty and Professor of Civil Engineering
Purdue University at West Lafayette

Kramer Luxbacher
Department Head and Professor of Mining and Geological Engineering
University of Arizona

Megan McCain
Chonette Early Career Chair and Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
University of Southern California

Wilkistar Otieno
Department Chair and Associate Professor of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Laura Plummer
Chair and Distinguished Teaching Associate Professor of Physical Therapy
MGH Institute of Health Professions

Juliana Rangel
Associate Professor of Apiculture
Texas A&M University

Debora Rodrigues
Ezequiel Cullen Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Houston

Katherine Saul
Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
North Carolina State University

Kelly Shaw
Professor of Computer Science
Williams College

Maureen Tang
Associate Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Drexel University

Karen Troy
Professor and Associate Department Head, Biomedical Engineering
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Ani Ural
Professor and Assistant Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering and Director
Villanova University

Iren Valova
Professor of Computer Science
University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth

May Dongmei Wang
Professor and Director of Biomedical Big Data Initiative
Georgia Institute of Technology

Abby Whittington
Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Shuang-Ye Wu
Professor and Chair of the Department of Geology and Environmental Geosciences
University of Dayton

Yuqiu You
Professor, Department of Engineering and Technology Management
Ohio University

Ying Zhang
Professor and Senior Associate Chair, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology

Lucy Zhang
Professor of Mechanical, Aerospace and Nuclear Engineering
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Glencora Borradaile
Associate Dean for Graduate Programs, Interim Associate Dean of Faculty & Staff Advancement, and Professor of Computer Science
Collect of Engineering
Oregon State University


Contact Us


Application Portal

Applications for the 2024-2025 ELATES fellowship year are open now until February 1, 2024.

Access the application portal to apply or to recommend or nominate a Fellow.

Application Portal