For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Chawapiwa Masole | Botswana


What do you do in your home country and what do you hope to do upon your return? In particular, with the integration of your experiences here?

I work for the state as an attorney drafting legislation and bills. I am also a refugee rights activist.

I am hoping to use the skills that I have gained from this experience to grow my nonprofit and make increase it's capacity to do better. I want to use some of the leadership skills that I have learned to advocate for my cause.

What is your favorite thing about your home country? How about Philadelphia?

It is peaceful, we are the only country that never had a civil war. It is always sunny. We are a very blessed population - we have free education, our economy has been growing, we have good health insurance policy. There is so much potential.

Philadelphia is amazing, diverse, welcoming, and people are very warm. There is always something for everyone around the world that can be found in Philly.

Do you have any hobbies or an interesting fact you wish to share about yourself?

I love cooking.  I also love outdoor activities like camping, off-roading, and just being outdoors in general.

If I were to come to your home country, what is the first thing I should eat?

I would say pap or samp (a starch) paired with oxtail or seswaa (like pounded boiled meat) and with morogo, which are like collard greens. Also, with a ginger drink called gemere.