For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Current Travel Restrictions


Israel and Lebanon

Travel assistance coverage and travel medical coverage are currently suspended for Israel and Lebanon. Any request to travel to these countries must be reviewed by the Travel Risk Review Committee and approved by the Provost. Since Drexel provided insurance coverage and emergency assistance will not be available, each potential traveler will need to obtain and submit alternative coverage with their petition. Effective 10/15/2023, until further notice. 

Ukraine, Russia and Belarus

Due to the current geopolitical climate in Eastern Europe, which includes an active war zone, stringent economic sanctions, and "do not travel" warnings from the U.S. Department of State, travel to Ukraine, Russia and Belarus by Drexel University employees and/or students on university-sponsored or affiliated travel is suspended until further notice. Travel is suspended beginning from 2/24/2022, until further notice. 

Special Insurance Considerations 

All coverage under the University's international package policy is currently excluded for travel to the following locations:**

  • Afghanistan;
  • Iraq;
  • Republic of Belarus;
  • The Russian Federation as recognized by the United Nations (or their territories, including territorial waters, or protectorates where they have legal control; legal control shall mean where recognized by the United Nations).

Only property coverage is excluded for: Ukraine (in accordance with the borders established as of the 1991 Declaration of Independence, including the Crimean peninsula and the Donetsk and Luhansk regions).

Cuba remains a sanctioned country with exceptions for educational purposes.  Coverage is not excluded, but it is not automatic – forms must be completed and submitted to the carrier for review and approval.

--Anyone planning to travel to any of the excluded locations listed above (including Ukraine), as well as travel to Cuba or any country subject to trade or economic sanctions, must notify Risk Management at least 45 days prior to the trip for further review and/or approval from the insurance carrier.

--Any additional premium costs for travel to excluded countries will be the responsibility of the department organizing the trip. 

--Please note that coverage is not always available/guaranteed.

Travel to Sanctioned Countries 

Travel to comprehensively embargoed countries (Iran, Syria, Cuba, North Korea) requires a license from the U.S. Department of the Treasury Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC). Other countries may also be subject to sanctions that affect travel. Check the OFAC website for a list of current Country Sanctions Programs. If you are considering travel to an embargoed or sanctioned country, please contact