For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Sylvester Akpah | ​Ghana

What do you do in your home country and what do you hope to do upon your return? In particular, with the integration of your experiences here?

I am a lecturer by profession. I work at the University of Mines and Technology. I teach computer networks, I am with the computer science and engineering department.

I run an NGO back in Ghana called FamHealth Ghana Foundation that focuses on kidney health. Through this fellowship I hope to build the capacity of my organization and also to start lasting collaborations with organizations here in Philadelphia.

What is your favorite thing about your home country? How about Philadelphia?

My favorite thing about Ghana is how welcoming we are as a people, the food of my country and the comfort it gives me. My favorite thing about Philadelphia is getting lost and finding my way around. I am fascinated that here they do not sell alcohol to people under the age of twenty one and I hope that my country implements a similar law. That is something I really, really appreciate.

Do you have any hobbies or interesting facts you wish to share about yourself?

I am obviously an interesting person, I enjoy going out a lot. I enjoy playing table tennis and watching football. I enjoyed watching the baseball players running around the base, that really fascinated me.

If I were to come to your home country, what is the first thing I should eat?

Waakye, you have it with macaroni or spaghetti. We also have something called Gari, you can add your boiled egg and meat, some people even add fried plantain.