For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Meseret Woldeyes | ‚ÄčEthiopia 

What do you do in your home country and what do you hope to do upon your return? In particular, with the integration of your experiences here?


I’m a medical doctor specialized in family medicine. I now work as an assistant professor at Addis Ababa University. I am also the program director of the family medicine program at the same university. I educate, teach, and direct the program.

I’m involved also in the Gender club. I am one of the board members of the gender club.


I hope to practically apply what I’ve learned during the fellowship in my city. I've had meetings with my peer collaborator which is very useful. I’ve created networks here that I can move forward with. I will also be mentoring the staff under me so I will share my experience and what I have learned here with them. I will work on my leadership development plan and also come up with a strategy plan for my department as it is a new program that needs some structure. Also, we have to move forward and promote family medicine in the community. I plan to work with the ministry of health in my country to move forward with the plan and expand healthcare and make it more accessible and affordable to the community that I serve. I hope to build a model so that communities can have access to holistic, comprehensive care and integrated care.


What is your favorite thing about your home country? How about Philadelphia?


The people are friendly. They are kind and greet people. It's a great historical city with lots of historical places to see. Full of friendly, smiley, helpful people. The social life is very good. Families are very close. I appreciate the values that we have.


Being the first established city in the United States, I enjoy the historical aspect of Philadelphia. American history is very interesting. It's a vibrant city.


Do you have any hobbies or an interesting fact you wish to share about yourself?


I love to read books. I enjoy historical books and giving motivational speeches. Sports. Swimming.


If I were to come to your home country, what is the first thing I should eat?


Chicken stew: Doro wet and kitfo with injera.