For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Maphepo Mabapa | ​South Africa

What do you do in your home country and what do you hope to do upon your return? In particular, with the integration of your experiences here?

I am from South Africa. I run the only plus sized organization in Africa that is not only active for plus sized related matters, but is also active in social unrest and social injustice activism. I also have my own online radio station. I am a mentor to over 2000 youths who aspire to be social economic activists, all under 18. I am also opening a plus sized boutique that looks to import and export natural resources from other African countries into South africa.

I’m going to collaborate when I get back, I am already collabing with 8 fellows from this cohort. Basically, this will surround the campaigns im already active for, we are already active for 30 different campaigns and active movements.

What is your favorite thing about your home country? How about Philadelphia?

The diversity, the ability to accommodate all cultures and traditions and to make sure that the youth is properly empowered and well funded. The only issue is the youth need to know where to go and what to do. Diversity and empowerment are my favorite things about South Africa.

Because its very relative to me, I would say the diversity in Philadelphia is my favorite thing as well. There are a lot of different people, of different color.

Do you have any hobbies or an interesting fact you wish to share about yourself?

I love extreme sports and being a plus sized extreme sports lover, people don't usually expect that.

If I were to come to your home country, what is the first thing I should eat?

The bunny chow, it's a sandwich of all the greasiest foods you can ever find.