For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Architecture Faculty and Alumni Exhibition

February 27, 2012

The Leonard Pearlstein Gallery will be hosting Architecture: Faculty and Alumni Show, an exhibition for the upcoming Architecture accreditation visit. Drexel faculty and alumni will exhibit their work through models, publications, boards and creative work. The exhibition opened February 21st and runs through Friday, March 16th, in both the Pearlstein Gallery and in Chapman Court. There is a reception honoring the faculty, alumni, and architectural community from 6 - 7 PM on Sunday, March 11th.

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. Drexel University’s Architecture Program receives accreditation through the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), the only agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture. The faculty and staff of the Architecture program have been hard at work for well over a year preparing an intensive self-study of all aspects of our program in advance of the NAAB accrediting team’s March site visit.

For over 20 years the architecture accreditation process has served as a model for national and international professional accrediting agencies. Based on evidence rather than intention, the faculty, staff, and students of Drexel’s Architecture Program have been gathering student work from over 60 courses to demonstrate that students are meeting the 32 Student Performance Criteria. This includes high and low pass work in history and theory, professional practice, applied technology, analog and digital representation, and design. Other areas the accrediting team will be assessing include faculty credentials and productivity, program budgets and resources, facilities, changes in the program since the last accreditation visit, and governance. Additionally, the five members of the accrediting team will be meeting with faculty, students and University leaders during their March 10th – 14th visit. The results of the visit and the term of accreditation will be delivered in late June.

2012 NAAB Accreditation VisitcFaculty and Alumni Exhibition Featured Contributors

David Ade**
Joanne Aitken
Ulrike Altenmüller-Lewis
Sherman Aronson
Judith Bing
John Blatteau
Anthony Bracali**
Mark L. Brack
Edwin Bronstein
Richard Brown
Michael Burns
Jon Coddington
Jay N. Cooperson
Andrew Cronin
Charles E. Dagit, Jr.
Katherine Dowdell**
Eugenia Victoria Ellis
Steve Gatschet
Paul R. Halamar
Matthew Heckendorn**
Don M. Jones
Timothy P. Kearney
Daniel Kelley
Jeff Krieger
Troy C. Leonard
Michael Lukshides
Fletcher MacNeill
Daniel K. McCoubrey
Lawrence D. McEwen
Robert E. Nalls
James Rowe
Paul Salvaggio
Frank de Santis
Rachel Simmons Schade
Paul Schultz
Erik Sundquist
Simon T. Tickell
Nancy Rogo Trainer
Stephen Varenhorst
Karl E. Yrjanainen
Michael R. Ytterberg

Michele Barnett
Kevin Blackney
Timothy Cox
Mary Werner DeNada
Mary Frazier
Cee Jay Frederick
Steve Fry
Chloe Guernsey
Emanuel Kelly
Richard Linsky
Michael Lukshides
Cameron Mactavish
Mitchell Shiles
David Scheuernmann

** Contributor is both Faculty and Alumni