For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Dragons on Broadway

March 7, 2012

Join Drexel alumni for an exclusive performance of The Poet Laureate of Capitalism at New York City’s Abingdon Theatre, a venue noted for its dedication to producing new work, on March 24th, 2012. The Poet Laureate of Capitalism is a new play created by the New York City theatrical company, The Riot Group, in collaboration with an ensemble of Drexel students. This new drama charts the rise and fall of an Elizabethan-era writer as he creates his final disastrous work. The Poet Laureate of Capitalism brings together Playwright Adriano Shaplin, and Director Whit MacLaughlin, to lead a cast featuring professional actor Brian Osborne, and 14 Drexel students in an unprecedented theatre performance that explores art, money, and the limits of friendship. 

Adriano Shaplin, the Artistic Director of Riot Group, has authored eight plays for the company, including Wreck the Airline Barrier, Victory at the Dirt Palace, Pugilist Specialist, and Switch Triptych. He is a four-time recipient of the Scotsman Fringe First Award for new writing. Whit MacLaughin is the founder and Artistic Director of New Paradise Laboratories of Philadelphia. MacLaughlin has conceived, directed, and designed 11 original performance pieces with the company and is an OBIE and Barrymore award winner. Brian Osborne is a co-conspirator at New Paradise Laboratories and has performed in Los Angeles, Chicago, Minneapolis, and New York.

Drexel alumni are invited to join Allen Sabinson, Dean of the Westphal College, in "toasting" our student actors at a private pre-performance reception with sparkling wine and light refreshments. The pre-performance reception starts at 6:30 PM and curtain is at 8 PM. Tickets are $25 which includes the reception and show tickets. Please visit the Alumni website here for more information and to purchase tickets. The show is made possible in part by a grant from the Samuel P. Mandell Foundation and through the generosity of Timothy P. Speiss and the Abingdon Theater Company.