For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Fashion Design Awards

March 01, 2009

So Re Fa Fashion Show

  • Name: Margaret DeLap

Margaret DeLap, Fashion Design Graduate Program, had two of her sportswear designs shown on the runway in the So Re Fa Fashion Show at Arcadia Boutique in Philadelphia in October 2008. Magaret's designs were made with eco-friendly fibers, fabrics and dyes.

The American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists

  • Name: Caitlin Bridgers
  • Faculty Advisor: Kathi Martin

Caitlin Bridgers, sophomore in Fashion Design, is one of six finalists in the American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists (AATCC) fourth annual international design competition in the Apparel Design Category/Fabric Design. Her winning entry, Night Lights, was among 140 entries representing 25 different institutions. The theme of this year's design competition is Earth Day, Every Day. Winners will be announced during the AATCC Spring Committee Meetings in May 2008. Kathi Martin, Associate Professor, is her faculty mentor.

This international design competition was developed by AATCC's Concept 2 Consumer(r) (C2C(r)) Interest Group and the Computer Integrated Textile Design Association (CITDA).

CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) Annual Scholarship

  • Name: Frasheri, Gerta
  • Faculty Advisor: Cindy Golembuski
  • Description: Full time students that have one year of classes to complete before being awarded their degree are eligible. Student portfolios are judged by a selection committee consisting of CFDA established members, solely on merit. Gerta Frasheri submitted a womenswear/sportswear portfolio.
  • Award: Honorable Mention Certificate
  • URL:

The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc. (CFDA) is a not-for-profit trade association whose goals are, "to further the position of fashion design as a recognized branch of American art and culture, to advance its artistic and professional standards, to establish and maintain a code of ethics and practices of mutual benefit in professional, public, and trade relations, and to promote and improve public understanding and appreciation of the fashion arts through leadership in quality and taste." The CFDA is committed to nurturing the development of the American fashion industry's future designers. The organization's Educational Initiatives provide support and resources for designers at the collegiate, post-graduate and the early stages of their careers

Alpaca Owners & Breeders Association

  • Name: Gillian Spaco - 1st, Megan Groefrer-2nd, Lisa Hutchinson-4th, Lindsey Hatfield-Judge's Choice
  • Faculty Advisor: Marilyn Hefferen
  • Description: Students submitted knitdowns (concept swatches) made from alpaca yarn that was donated for their use by the Royal Alpaca Spinners of New Mexico.
  • Award: Gillian Space, 1st Place, will attend the 2006 AOBA/ARI Fiber to Fashion National Conference in Reno, NV on November 2-4, 2006.

It serves the following purposes: (1) To promote public awareness and membership appreciation of the Alpaca's unique qualities; (2) To educate the membership on the care and breeding of the Alpaca; (3) To promote the growth of the Alpaca industry as a whole; and (4) To foster the establishment of the breed outside of its native land by encouraging husbandry and breeding practices based upon, but not limited to, herd health, overall soundness, and alpaca fiber production and products.

Arts of Fashion Foundation

  • Name:
    • Accessories: Brandi Loughery
    • Fashion: Patrick Carrow, Lindsey Hatfield, JaeYoon Jeong, Autumn Kietponglert, Carla Rickenbacher, Rebecca Wolfrum
  • Faculty Advisor: Lisa Hayes
  • Description: This contest is to promote & reward creativity & inventiveness, discover young talents & encourage careers, establish enriching contacts & exchanges between different countries, different Schools & Universities, different industries & fields to know each other better. The theme for 2006 is "Expression of Mind and Body."
  • First Round Selection Results - Categories:
    • Accessories: Brandi Loughery
    • Fashion: Patrick Carrow, Lindsey Hatfield, JaeYoon Jeong, Autumn Kietponglert, Carla Rickenbacher, Rebecca Wolfrum
  • Award: These students will attend and participate in the Arts of Fashion Foundation sponsored Fashion Show and Competition Finals in Denton, TX.Here, the students will compete for a one-year full scholarship to the renowned Schools of the Chambre Syndicale de la Couture Parisienne in Paris; La Cambre Fashion Award, a six-week scholarship to the creative fashion design department of the Ecole Nationale Superieure des Arts Visuels de La Cambre in Brussels, Belgium; Anne Valerie Hash Award, a three-month internship within the Anne-Valerie Hash House in Paris; Veronique Branquinho Award, a three-month internship within the Creative Department of Veronique Branquinho Antwept in Belgium; and Wendy & Jim Award, a three-month internship within the Studio of Wendy & Jim (Helga Schania and Hermann Fankhauser) in Vienna, Austria.

The Arts of Fashion Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to the world of fashion and its myriad aspects including; creation (design and craftsmanship), ideation and documentation (illustration and photography of creations), and finally, promotion (branding, marketing, communication and business).

ALS Association and Neiman Marcus sponsored "Couture for a Cure" on September 17th, 2006

  • Name: Anil Dokkari, Anne Burton, Elizabeth Shane, Emily Lung, Erin Dempesy, Erin Wilson, Jen Barone, Jungsoon Lee, Kristin Dudley, Lisa Hutchinson, Annina King, Denise Lacen
  • Advisor: Emil DeJohn
  • Description: Students were provided with high quality forms to dress and decorate.Each of these forms was auctioned off at the evening gala at the King of Prussia Neiman Marcus location.
  • Dollar amount raised: $350,000

International Textile and Apparel Association's 2006 Design Exhibition

  • Names: Lisa Hutchinson, Rebecca Batt, Kristin Dudley, Ann Burton, Jungsoo Lee and Mia Murrphy
  • Advisors: Marilyn Hutchinson and Lisa Hayes
  • Description: The purpose of the exhibition is to provide an arena for design work in apparel and textiles to be juried and shown as a form of scholarship.Entries were judged by design professionals and ITAA Peers.Designs will undergo a second round of review prior to the exhibition by other professionals and award winners in a variety of categories.This year's theme is "Confluence of Culture."
  • Award: Selection for Exhibition at the 2006 ITAA Design Conference and Exhibition in San Antonio, TX on Nov. 1-6, 2006