For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Roger J. Dennis

Professor Emeritus

Dean Emeritus

Roger Dennis


Office: School of Law, 269
Phone: 215.571.4729

Administrative Support:
Anne Marie Cellucci
Phone: 215.571.4701


Roger Dennis' scholarship applies modern financial theory to corporate law and strategic corporate behavior. His work has been cited by numerous courts, including the U.S. Supreme Court.

He became founding dean of the law school after serving as provost, the head of campus, at Rutgers-Camden and dean of the Rutgers-Camden School of Law. In 2016, he announced his retirement from the deanship of the Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law.

In 2013, Professor Dennis was elected to the Council of the American Bar Association Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar, which is the accrediting body for law schools in the United States.  He has held an elected seat on the American Law Institute for nearly two decades and chaired numerous committees of the ABA Section on Legal Education as well as the Association of American Law Schools.

He serves on the board of the United Way of Greater Philadelphia and Southern New Jersey and was selected for membership on the national United Way Membership Accountability Committee.  He is a member of the advisory board of the Public Interest Law Center of Philadelphia, a trustee of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society and a former vice chair of the Camden County Regional Legal Services Board.

Professor Dennis practiced with Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom after serving as a trial attorney and special assistant to the assistant attorney general in the Antitrust Division of the U.S. Department of Justice. Prior to those appointments, he clerked for U.S. District Court Judge Richard McLaren, in Chicago.

Earning his JD at Northwestern University School of Law, he was senior editor of the Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology and served on the National Moot Court Team, winning first place in the Miner Moot Court Competition. He was a member of Order of the Coif.