For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Class of 2014 Members Compete in First Internal Moot Court Competition of the School Year

September 11, 2012

Students from the class of 2014 competed in the semi-final and final round of the first internal Moot Court competition of the Fall semester. 

The competition's hypothetical U.S. Supreme Court case concerned a fictional undergraduate student who applied for admission to a prestigious university but was denied admission due to an alleged race-based admissions policy. Eight students, representing either the ficitional school or the student challenging the school's policy, competed in the semi-final round which was judged by various faculty members.  

Class of 2014 members, Eric Bergel and Leah Zenou advanced to the final round where Hon. Mark I. Bernstein, Hon. Gary S. Glazer, and Hon. Frederica A. Massiah-Jackson from the Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas presided over the matter.  After an hour of oral argument and a short deliberation by the judges, Zenou was crowned the winner of the competition. 

At a reception following the event, Roderick Fancher was awarded best brief, best preliminary oral argument and best combined score in the competition and the following individuals were named to the Class of 2014 moot court board: Eric Bergel, Chelsea Biemiller, Roderick Fancher, Shannon Farley, Brett Kaminsky, Ashley Maguire, Katherine Martinez, Joe McGinley, Warren Raiti, Gwyneth Williams and, competition winner, Leah Zenou.