For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Professor Michelle McHugh Named to NATAS Board of Directors

April 5, 2024

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced today its new Board of Directors. The move follows a multi-year restructuring of the Academy’s bylaws and governance to be more representative of the industry communities it serves. Among the new members of the Board is Michelle McHugh, assistant teaching professor in the Antoinette Westphal College of Media Arts & Design.

McHugh serves as the program director for the Television & Media Management Graduate Program, embodying a rich dual career trajectory that encompasses profound expertise in both the television industry and the realm of multiplatform communication strategy. She has received a prestigious Regional Emmy® Award, acknowledging her exceptional coverage of the impact of crime in Philadelphia on the city’s youth and families and is a six-time regional Emmy® nominee,

The new Board of Directors replaces the longstanding NATAS Board of Trustees, and the first class of Board members will initially serve terms of one, two, or three years each. Adam Sharp remains President & CEO, and Terry O’Reilly remains Chair.

Later this year, NATAS will introduce a national membership model organized around peer groups, which will then elect future Directors to full three-year terms.

The initial Board includes (alphabetically):

  • Eva Basler
  • Phillip Bell
  • Bob Boden
  • Jared Bowen
  • David Burt, First Vice-Chair
  • Joan Cartan-Hansen
  • André Hepkins
  • Jeremy Hubbard
  • Martha Kattan
  • Ronit Larone
  • Julie Lucas, Secretary
  • Theresa Maher Johnson, Treasurer
  • Michelle McHugh
  • Terry O’Reilly, Chair
  • Amy Schmelzer
  • Adam Sharp, President & CEO
  • Jeremiah Slovarp
  • Jessica Snyder
  • David Solomon
  • Barbara Williams Perry, Second Vice-Chair

NATAS recently announced the winners of the 75th Annual Technology and Engineering EmmyⓇ Awards, which will take place in partnership with the NAB New York media & technology convention in October. The organization is gearing up for the 45th Annual Sports Emmy Awards in New York in the spring, followed by the 51st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards in Los Angeles, currently open for submissions and closing on March 7. The award ceremony will be announced in the coming weeks. The 45th Annual News & Documentary Emmy Awards are also open for submissions and will be presented in New York in September. Information about each Board member is below and full bios can be found HERE with their photos.

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime and Children’s & Family programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of more than 18,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs, including regional student television and its Student Award for Excellence and the National Student Production Awards for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.