For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

2023 David S. Raizman Prize Awarded to Assistant Professor Clare Sauro

June 13, 2023

In memory of former Interim Dean and Emeritus Professor David Raizman, family and friends established the David S. Raizman Endowed Memorial Award. David's energy and leadership impacted hundreds of colleagues and this Award will be given in his name for perpetuity. The Award recognizes a current faculty member who exemplifies distinguished service, teaching, and leadership in accordance with the values of the Antoinette Westphal College of Media Arts & Design.

The 2023 recipient of the Raizman Award is Clare Sauro, assistant professor in the Departments of Design and Art & Art History. In addition to her faculty appointment, Sauro is the director of the Robert and Penny Fox Historic Costume Collection (FHCC). She joined Drexel University in 2008 and has over 20 years' experience working in the field of historic costume and museums. 

As director of the FHCC, she has mounted several notable exhibitions including Venus & Diana: Fashioning the Jazz Age (2021), Brave New World: Fashion & Freedom, 1911-1919 (2011), Immortal Beauty: Highlights from the Robert and Penny Fox Historic Costume Collection (2015), Philadelphia in Style: A Century of Fashion from the Robert & Penny Fox Historic Costume Collection (2016) at the James A. Michener Art Museum, and James Galanos: Design Integrity (2018). 

Sauro teaches courses in the history of fashion. Her current research includes fashion from 1910 to 1939, Philadelphia retailer Nan Duskin, cellophane textiles, and Hollywood costume designer Bernard Newman. Sauro is a frequent lecturer on the history of fashion and is regularly interviewed and consulted by journalists and scholars on topics ranging from red carpet fashion to the history of pajamas.

“A great component of David’s impact on the college was his immense generosity and empathy, you might call it his humanity,” writes one of Sauro’s nominators for the award. “He also had a curiosity that led him to engage with colleagues beyond his academic focus making him a highly interactive member of the Westphal community. I see these qualities in Clare’s personality, her work, and in every instance where I’ve had the good fortune to work with her.”

Another nominator writes, “The Fox Historic Costume collection is testament to Clare’s exemplary service and dedication to Westphal. I believe her record of teaching and service meet the high standards that David inspired."

The David S. Raizman Endowed Memorial Award is granted annually each spring to a deserving faculty member nominated and selected by Westphal colleagues and the Dean. Because of many generous supporters, this Award will ensure David’s legacy lives on at Drexel. Past recipients include Nick Anselmo and Mark Brack.

If you would like to make a gift in David’s memory, we invite you to visit or direct a check to Drexel University, PO Box 8215, Philadelphia, PA 19101-9684.