For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

DNEWS Wins Third Consecutive Telly Award

June 19, 2013

DUTV’s Emmy Award-winning monthly TV news magazine show DNEWS has won a bronze 2013 Telly Award in the “News or News Feature” category for the show’s March 2013 episode.

Drexel Junior Sloane Spurlock hosted the award-winning show, which featured segments on the Miss Philadelphia pageant, the Drexel Lacrosse team, West Philly Fencing, the Laurel Hill Cemetery, Drexel University’s Acapella Group, First Friday Arts and Project Runway. Drexel student producers on the March 2013 show include Courtney Thomas, Mike Giovingo, Wedge Wegman, MaiLinh Bui, Melissa Funtanilla and Shuang Lin, with shooters and editors Marianne Gorsky, Sam Moscowitz, Jeff Cindric, Gloria Schultz and Jeff Cindric.

The Telly Awards honors groundbreaking film and video productions, web commercials, videos and films, and outstanding local, regional, and cable TV commercials and programs. The 34th Annual Telly Awards received over 12,000 entries from all 50 U.S. states and from 5 different continents. 

DUTV operatesd as a service of Drexel University dedicated to providing the people of Philadelphia with quality educational television, and providing Drexel students the opportunity to gain experience in television management and production. Its programs are produced in Westphal College’s Paul F. Harron Studios, which is currently upgrading its larger studio to allow for full high-definition (HD) capabilities. Future episodes of DNEWS will be filmed in HD, with web-streaming broadcasts available on the studio’s web channel DUTV2.

The Telly Award is DNEWS’ latest edition to its impressive list of broadcast industry recognitions. The show won this same award in both 2011 and 2012, in addition to a National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) award for Best College Production Newscast last year. NATAS is the same organization that gives out Emmy Awards each year to the industry's best television programs. 

The Telly Awards