For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Congratulations to Dana and David Dornsife Scholarship Recipients

October 25, 2016

The inaugural Dana and David Dornsife Scholarships have been awarded to four incoming MPH students who demonstrate exceptional promise in public health. Preference was given to students with strong interest or experience in urban health and health disparities as well as to those from under-represented groups (based on race/ethnicity or economic disadvantage). International students were also eligible.

During the two-year MPH program, each selected student receives a $17,000 tuition award each year and an $8,000 annual stipend to work with an SPH faculty member on a variety of research activities. Here are the 2016 winners:

  • Benjamin Borchers

            North Wales, PA
            BS, West Chester University
            MPH Concentration – Health Management and Policy
            Faculty Mentor – Jonathan Purtle

  • Kathryn Boyle-Steed

           Minneapolis, MN
           BA, University of New Hampshire
           MPH Concentration – Epidemiology
           Faculty Mentor – Felice Le-Scherban

  • Kelli Kostizak

           Tuscon, AZ
           BA, University of Arizona
           MPH Concentration – Community Health and Prevention
           Faculty Mentor- Toti Villanueva

  • Abigail Mudd

           Baltimore, MD
           BA, Drexel University
           MPH Concentration – Epidemiology
           Faculty Mentor – Yvonne Michael

Recipients were selected by the Admissions Committee.

Prospective students should indicate their interest and fit with this and any other specific endowed scholarship in their personal statement during the application process. They also are encouraged to apply no later than January 15 to be considered for endowed scholarships.

For more information, visit: