For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Dornsife Faculty and Students Recognized at American Public Health Association Annual Meeting

November 5, 2015

Faculty and students from the Dornsife School of Public Health community were recognized at the 143rd APHA Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois held Oct. 31 - Nov. 4.

Jonathan Purtle, DrPH, MPH, MSc, assistant professor of Health Management and Policy and colleagues from the Dornsife School of Public Health’s Center for Public Health Readiness and Communication as well as the Kline School of Law were awarded Abstract of the Year during the APHA Law Section Social Hour for their presentation, "Exploring the Impacts of Public Health Laws on Syndromic Disease Surveillance Practices in the United States," a study exploring the impacts of laws on syndromic disease surveillance.  

Assistant Professor of Community Health and Prevention Amy Carroll-Scott, PhD, MPH was awarded the APHA Friend of the Student Assembly Award for her support and dedication to the Student Assembly and her influence on successful APHA-SA activities, programs and initiatives. She also received the Community Engagement and Leadership Award from the Community Health Planning and Policy Section of APHA. Dr. Carroll-Scott organized the annual meeting's Day of Action, a Community Summit on Violence held October 31.


The APHA Maternal and Child Health Section recognized two incoming Student Fellows from the Dornsife School of Public Health, Kiana Hardy, MPH ‘16 and Amy Henderson Riley, MA, CHES, DrPH-CHP(c), who will spend the next year participating in APHA MCH section business meetings, serving on various committees, working on policy statements, assisting with activities for National Public Health Week, and helping to organize oral and poster sessions for the Annual Meeting. Student Fellows are matched with a public health mentor in the MCH field who is serving in a leadership role in the MCH Section. Dornsife is the only School of Public Health to have two fellows selected for this role this year.

Shruti Jituri, MPH ’14, received the Student Achievement Poster Award for her work with faculty advisor Curtis E. Cummings, MD, MPH, associate professor of Environmental and Occupational Health on "Health impact assessment of mountaintop mining in Mingo County, West Virginia." The Medical Care Student Awards session recognized recent Drexel alumni Alexander Krengel, MPH ’15 and Evan Gooberman, MPH ’15, for their presentation, "Multidisciplinary Simulation: Effective Competency-Building Exercise for Interprofessional Health Practice."

Congrats to the award recipients and all presenters at the 2015 Annual Meeting!