Interim Engineering Dean Received IEEE Award

Image of Drexel's Dr. Bruce Eisenstein, interim dean of the College of Engineering
Drexel’s Dr. Bruce Eisenstein, Arthur J. Rowland professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) and interim dean of the College of Engineering, was named the 2012 recipient of the Richard M. Emberson Award. The award is one of the highest recognitions presented by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the largest technical/professional society in the world with nearly 400,000 members.

Eisenstein will be presented with the award, which includes a bronze medal, an illuminated certificate and an honorarium, at the 2012 IEEE Honors Ceremony in Boston, Mass. with more than 600 people expected to attend. It is given out for distinguished service to the development, viability, advancement and pursuit of the technical objectives of the IEEE.

Eisenstein received a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from MIT, a master’s in electrical engineering from Drexel and a doctoral degree in electrical engineering from the University of Pennsylvania. He was a NASA/ASEE fellow at Stanford University and the NASA Ames Research Center and a visiting research fellow in electrical engineering at Princeton University under the sponsorship of the National Science Foundation. At Drexel, he has served as the head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department and associate dean of Engineering. He currently serves as interim dean of the College of Engineering.

He has published more than 50 papers in the areas of digital signal processing, pattern recognition, deconvolution, and biomedical engineering. Eisenstein was the recipient of the C. Holmes MacDonald Award of Eta Kappa Nu given to the “Outstanding Young Electrical Engineering Educator.” He is a member of Eta Kappa Nu, and served on the National Board of Directors and as president. He is also a member of Tau Beta Pi, Sigma Xi, ASEE and is a registered professional engineer in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Eisenstein was elected Delaware Valley Engineer of the Year for 2000. He served as president of the IEEE in 2000 and has held several other IEEE positions, including chairman of the Philadelphia section, treasurer, vice president for technical activities, member of the Board of Directors, and president of the Education Society.

About the Emberson Award

In 1986 the Board of Directors established the IEEE Richard M. Emberson Award. The Award is named in honor of Dr. Richard M. Emberson, whose 23-year association with the Institute at both the staff and volunteer levels, including Director of Technical Services, Executive Director and General Manager, and Member of the Board of Directors, exemplified loyal and dedicated service to the Institute, especially its Technical Activities. Past recipients of this award include Bruno Weinschel and Robert Lucky.