Workers' Compensation is a statutory program that provides wage loss and medical benefits to employees in accordance with each state's Workers' Compensation Act. If an employee sustains a job-related injury, or suffers an occupational disease in the course and scope of their employment, s/he may be entitled to receive benefits under workers' compensation.
The employee must report all work-related accidents or injuries to his/her supervisor immediately, complete the required forms within 24 hours of the incident and forward them to the Department of Risk Management so that the claim can be submitted to the insurance carrier.
If the injured employee seeks medical treatment, s/he must treat with one of the designated health care providers listed on the Panel of Providers. S/he must also continue to treat with one of these providers for 90 days from the date of the initial visit. Should the injured employee continue to require treatment after the 90 day period, then s/he may choose to go to a non-Panel provider; however, the employee must notify the insurance carrier within 5 days of the first visit to the new provider to assure payment of medical treatment.
Initial treatment may be sought at an emergency room in the event:
- An employee sustains an injury during an evening (after 5:00pm Monday – Friday) or weekend shift (any time Saturday and Sunday) that requires immediate treatment; or
- An employee sustains a serious or life-threatening injury during normal business hours (8:00am – 5:00pm) that requires emergency medical treatment.
However, all follow-up treatment must be with a panel provider. Also, unless the injured employee is admitted to the hospital, if any restrictions were given by the emergency medical provider, including but not limited to time off from work, follow-up with the panel provider must occur the next business day to address any restrictions, including time off from work.
Policy and Forms
In California, workers' compensation is a state-mandated insurance program that provides compensation to employees who suffer job-related injuries and illnesses.
Should an employee sustain a work-related injury or illness, s/he must report it to his/her supervisor immediately, complete the Drexel Employee Injury Report form and forward it to the Department of Risk Management so that the claim can be submitted to the insurance carrier. The state of California requires that form DWC-1 must also be completed within 24 hours. This form must also be forwarded to Risk Management so that it can be submitted to the insurance company for filing with the State of California.
Should an injured employee wish to seek treatment, s/he can do so through the medical provider network (MPN). All employees of an employer using an approved and implemented MPN are required to receive medical treatment through the MPN for work injuries, EXCEPT:
- Those employees who properly pre-designate a physician any time before an injury occurs, even if the pre-designated physician is a provider in the MPN's network; and
- Those employees with injuries prior to the effective date of the MPN whose care has not been transferred into the MPN.
Employees must report all work-related accidents or injuries to his/her supervisor immediately, complete the injury report form within 24 hours of the incident and forward it to the Department of Risk Management so that the claim can be submitted to the insurance carrier.
If an employee sustains a work-related injury requiring immediate medical treatment, s/he may seek initial treatment at the closest Urgent Care or Emergency Room. The insurance carrier will refer you to the appropriate provider for any follow-up care that may be needed.
The injured employee may choose his/her own physician for any treatment needed. If s/he is transported to an emergency room, s/he may still choose his/her own doctor after s/he is released. Once a treating physician is chosen it cannot be changed without approval from the insurance company or the Office of Workers' Compensation.
The employee must report all work-related accidents or injuries to his/her supervisor immediately, complete the Drexel Employee Injury Report form within 24 hours of the incident and forward it to the Department of Risk Management so that the claim can be submitted to the insurance carrier. The employee then must file Form 7 DCWC within 30 days after the injury or occupational illness to the following address:
District of Columbia Government
Office of Worker's Compensation
P.O. Box 56098
Washington, D.C., 20011
and forward a copy to the Office of Risk Management.
Note, the D.C. Workers' Compensation Act does not include coverage for casual workers—those hired for temporary employment—or for independent contractors.
Missouri law requires that employees provide prompt notice of any injury or accident to their employer. They then must complete the Drexel Employee Injury Report form within 24 hours of the incident and forward it to the Department of Risk Management so that the claim can be submitted to the insurance carrier. Failure to report your injury to your employer within 30 days may jeopardize your ability to receive workers' compensation benefits.
Also under Missouri Law, the employer has the right to choose the healthcare provider or treating physician, however, the injured employee has the right to select a treating physician at the employee's own expense. Following are two providers the University has chosen for treatment. Please contact the Office of Risk Management should an additional provider be needed.
Occupational Medicine Center
Concentra Urgent Care
8340 N Broadway
St. Louis, MO 63147
Washington University Department of Orthopedics
4921 Parkview Place
St. Louis, MO 63110