For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Cell2Society Aging Research

September 20, 2019

Drexel Areas of Research Excellence graphic

Rose Ann DiMaria-Ghalili and Interdisciplinary Collaborators Awarded $250,000 from the Drexel Areas of Research Excellence (DARE) Initiative for the Cell2Society Aging

rose-agewell-headshotRose Ann DiMaria-Ghalili, PhD, RN, CNSC, FASPEN, FAAN, FGSA, an assistant dean for Interprofessional and Collaborative Research and professor of Nursing and Nutrition Sciences and principal investigator, and interdisciplinary collaborators have been awarded a $250,000 grant from Drexel University.

The overarching goal of the Drexel Areas of Research Excellence (DARE) initiative is to identify unique and distinctive areas of interdisciplinary scholarship and could provide Drexel national prominence in the near term. In this cycle of the DARE competition, 22 DARE submissions from teams composed of 177 members were received and three were awarded. The one-year project Cell2Society Aging (Cell2Society) which officially launched September 1, 2019 embodies the spirit of Drexel’s “The Future is a Place We Make” campaign and creates a novel ecosystem for the pursuit of use-inspired aging research from which to inform the role of Drexel University in an aging society.

The Cell2Society DARE brings together 23 faculty from nine colleges/schools across the University along with over 19 external stakeholders with an interest in aging research from the cellular level to the society level. The inaugural members include:

Principal Investigator: Rose Ann DiMaria-Ghalili (CNHP)

Faculty Research Network Members: Joke Bradt (CNHP), Felice Elegant (CoAS), Eugenia Ellis (CoE), Girija Kaimal (CNHP), Peter Lewin (Biomed), Longjian Lui (DSPH), Claire Milner (CNHP), Kristine Mulhorn (CNHP), Michael Neidrauer (Biomed), Il-Yeol Song (CCI), Glenn Williams (CNHP), Stella Volpe (CNHP), Michael Weingarten (CoM)

Faculty Steering Committee Members: Katherine Clark (CNHP), Laura Gitlin (CNHP), Jana Hirsch (DSPH), Andres Kriete (Biomed), Don McEachron (Biomed), Suzanne Rocheleau (Pennoni), Christian Sell (CoM), Elisabeth Van Bockstaele (CoM;Grad), Kathleen Fisher (CNHP)

Faculty Stakeholder Steering Committee Member: Loretta Sweet-Jemmot (CNHP)

Although Drexel University has no shortage of renowned disciplinary research, scholarship, and creativity strengths, it is the fact that the university assimilates this unique breadth of disciplines that creates such a fruitful environment. Creating innovative, unique, and strategic collaborations at the intersections of existing areas of strength will lead to truly transformative outcomes.