For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.


The C. & J. Nyheim Plasma Institute consists today of 4 laboratories, signifying 4 major directions of NPI research:
  • Plasma Engineering and Plasma Water Treatment and Environmental Control Laboratory, led by Professor A. Rabinovich, is focused on fuel conversion, CO2 sequestration, hydrogen production, waste-to-energy conversion, liquefaction of shale gas on water disinfection, and exhaust gas cleaning.
  • Applied Plasma Physics Laboratory, led by Professor D. Dobrynin, is focused on development and characterization of novel plasma sources, including nanosecond pulsed plasma and plasma in liquids; development of plasma spectroscopy and other plasma methods of plasma diagnostics; as well as physics and chemistry of plasma catalysis and plasma assisted combustion.

  • Applied Plasma Chemistry and BioMedicine Laboratory, led by Professors C. Sales is focused on studying the role of plasma in prevention and treatment of many different diseases. Active projects examine the use of plasma sources for sterilization of different surfaces, including living tissues, disinfection of food, water and air streams; wound healing, tissue repair and regeneration, stimulation of angiogenesis, stimulation of cells of the immune system, treatment of cancers etc. Additionally, the laboratory is also focused on plasma's in agricultural practices.

  • Computational Physics Laboratory, led by Professor D. Vainchtein, is focused on numerical and analytical methods, space and laboratory plasma, aerodynamics, and fluid mechanics.