For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

College of Arts and Sciences Tenure, Promotion and Awards


June 26, 2017

The mission of the College of Arts and Sciences and the University could not be accomplished without the dedication and support of our faculty members. It is their pursuit of excellence in teaching, research and scholarship that reinforces our position as a modern liberal arts college, and enhances our University’s reputation as a world-class research institution.

Please join us in recognizing the outstanding faculty members who have gone above and beyond to further our College’s mission and advance the future of our University.


Allen Rothwarf Award for Teaching Excellence
Presented to a tenure-track junior faculty member who exemplifies high standards of teaching while developing research in his or her area of expertise

  • Alison Kenner, PhD, Department of Politics

Provost’s Career Award for Outstanding Scholarly Productivity
Awarded in recognition of a faculty member who has sustained an extraordinarily high level of scholarly activities that have had a major impact on the greater community, both internally and externally

  • Gordon Richards, PhD, Department of Physics

Career Development Award
Awarded to early-career, tenure-track faculty to develop mentor relationships and networks, nationally or internationally, to create long-term collaborations

  • Phillip Ayoub, PhD, Department of Politics
  • Debjani Bhattacharyya, PhD, Department of History
  • Jordan Hyatt, JD, PhD, Department of Criminology & Justice Studies
  • Gabriel de Avilez Rocha, PhD, Department of History
  • Ezra Wood, PhD, Department of Chemistry
  • Alden Young, PhD, Department of History
  • Fengqing Zhang, PhD, Department of Psychology

Evidence-Based Teaching Award in STEM
Given to a full-time, tenure-track or teaching faculty member in a STEM department who has demonstrated effective use of pedagogical strategies for teaching students, and who has developed innovative approaches in the classroom

  • Monica Illes, PhD, Department of Chemistry

University Award for Pedagogy and Assessment
Presented to individuals who have engaged in teaching and learning initiatives that have resulted in academic program improvement driven by assessment and, as a result, have had a significant impact on aspects of curriculum design and quality assurance in teaching and learning

  • Scott Warnock, PhD, Department of English & Philosophy


Teaching Excellence Award
Awarded to a tenure-track assistant professor who has demonstrated unusual excellence and innovation in teaching

  • Fengqing Zhang, PhD, Department of Psychology

The Antelo Devereux Award for Young Faculty
Awarded to a tenure-track assistant professor in support of his or her research

  • Loÿc Vanderkluysen, PhD, Department of Biodiversity, Earth & Environmental Sciences
  • Hyunmin Min Lee, PhD, Department of Communication


Fellowship Mentor Award
Awarded in recognition of the efforts and critical role of a faculty member who consistently goes the extra mile to cultivate, prepare and guide students in their applications to nationally competitive fellowships

  • Phillip Ayoub, PhD, Department of Politics


Tenure and Promotion to Associate Professor

  • Nathan Hanna, PhD, Department of English & Philosophy
  • Flavia Padovani, PhD, Department of English & Philosophy
  • Patrick Clarke, PhD, Department of Mathematics
  • Tiago Saraiva, Department of History
  • Michelle Dolinski, PhD, Department of Physics

Promotion to Professor

  • Dmitry Kaliuzhnyi-Verbovetskyi, PhD, Department of Mathematics
  • Scott Knowles, PhD, Department of History
  • Georgi Medvedev, PhD, Department of Mathematics
  • Joel Oestreich, PhD, Department of Politics

Promotion to Teaching Professor

  • Meshagae Hunte-Brown, PhD, Department of Biology
  • Lisa Farley, Department of English & Philosophy
  • Oksana Odintsova, PhD, Department of Mathematics

Promotion to Associate Teaching Professor

  • Raymond Favocci, Department of Mathematics
  • Hwan Yong Lee, PhD, Department of Mathematics
  • Jordan McClain, PhD, Department of Communication
  • Sheila Sandapen, PhD, Department of English & Philosophy
  • Jeanne Steuber, Department of Mathematics
  • Monica Togna, PhD, Department of Biology
  • Vincent Williams, PhD, Department of English & Philosophy

Promotion to Assistant Teaching Professor

  • Richard Forney, Department of Communication
  • Dimitrios Papadopoulos, Department of Mathematics
  • Anne Politz, English Language Center
  • Rosemary Rys, Department of Communication


  • Valerie Arms, PhD, Department of English & Philosophy
  • Joseph Bentz, PhD Department of Biology
  • Raymond Brebach, PhD, Department of English & Philosophy
  • Michele Vallières, PhD, Department of Physics