For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

National Institutes of Health (NIH) Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Awards (NRSA)

The NIH Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Awards (NRSA) provide up to five years of support for research training leading to research doctoral degrees, including the PhD, MD/PhD, or another combined professional degree and research doctoral degree in biomedical, behavioral, health services, or clinical sciences.

The overall goal of the program is to help ensure that a diverse pool of highly trained scientists is available in appropriate scientific disciplines to address the nation's biomedical, behavioral, and clinical research needs. In order to accomplish this goal, NRSA training programs are designed to prepare individuals for research careers.

The NIH Kirschstein Awards consist of several fellowships (F-Series) that include the following:

  • F30 (dual doctoral degree fellowships, e.g. MD/PhD, DDS/PhD)
  • F31 (predoctoral fellowships)
  • F31 (predoctoral fellowships – diversity)
  • F32 (postdoctoral fellowships)

For a complete listing of Fellowship Program Announcements (PAs), see the F Kiosk (program website) linked below.


  • Fall, Spring, Summer 

Fields of Study:

  • Health
  • Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Program Type:

  • Graduate Fellowship
  • Research

Program Length:

  • Multi-year

Degree Level:

  • Graduate


  • United States


  • US Citizen/National
  • US Permanent Resident