For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Alumni and Student Honorees


The 2021 Drexel Alumni awards recognize a select group of alumni and students for outstanding contributions to their chosen professions, communities, and Drexel University. This year’s recipients are entrepreneurs, researchers, veterans and leaders. Check out the videos below to meet this year’s awardees who truly embody what it means to be a Dragon.

A full list of alumni and student award descriptions is available here.

Congratulations to the 2021 Awardees:

A.J. Drexel Paul Award for Service to Alma Mater
Kathleen Chimicles, BS Finance 1983, Trustee

Alumni Entrepreneur Award
Anita T. Conner, BS Accounting 1979
Archibald (Archie) S. Filshill, MS Civil Engineering 1996, PhD 2011

Excellence in Co-operative Education Award
Kenneth R. Fulmer, BS Architectural and Civil Engineering 1992, MS Engineering Management 2000, Trustee

Faculty/Staff Alumni Award for Campus Impact
Ira M. Taffer, BS Chemistry 1979, PhD 1983, Former Trustee

Golden Dragon Society Award
Jonathan (Jon) Corle, BS Business Administration 1970
Alan Daroff, BS Electrical Engineering 1971, MBA Business Administration 1977
Susan Daroff, BS Design & Merchandising 1970
Randolph (Randy) Holmes, BS Business Administration 1970
D. Howard Pierce, BS Mechanical/Industrial Engineering 1971, Trustee Emeritus

Harriet E. Worrell Society Award
Catherine Campbell-Perna, BS Communications 1995, MS Higher Education 2011
Carole Hochman, BS Fashion Design 1966, HD 1986, Former Trustee

Joseph Jacovini Outstanding Service Award
Gerianne DiPiano, Trustee

Mary S. Irick Drexel Society Award for Civic Engagement
Vicki L. Jones, BS Design 1978

Outstanding Student Award
Maanasa Natrajan, Custom Designed Major Focusing on Neuroscience
Mark Petrovic, Material Sciences & Engineering

Service to Profession Award
Diran Apelian, BS Metallurgical Engineering 1968

Silver Dragon Society Award
David Kaganovsky, BS Information Systems 1995, Former Trustee
Caroline (Cookie) Till, MS Clinical Nutrition 1986

Special Distinction Award
F Philip Robin, BS Electrical Engineering 1971

Young Alumni Distinguished Service Award
CAPT Paulette Cazares, MPH Public Health 2011

Young Alumni Emerging Leader Award
Jacob Owens, PhD Environmental Science 2014

Young Alumni Entrepreneur Award
Sheetal Bahirat, MS Culinary Arts & Science 2020
Zuri Masud, MS Food Science 2019

Young Alumni Awards for Distinguished Service, Emerging Leader and Entrepreneur

Mary S. Irick Drexel Society, Special Distinction and Harriet E. Worrell Society Awards

Faculty/Staff, Excellence in Co-operative Education and Outstanding Student Awards

Alumni Entrepreneur and Service to Profession Awards

Golden and Silver Dragon Society Awards