For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Physics Faculty

Name | Title | Contact Research | Teaching Interests Department | Center
Alexey Aprelev, PhD
Assistant Teaching Professor
Disque Hall 924
aprelev@drexel.edu
215.895.2716
Department of Physics
Shyamalendu Bose
Professor Emeritus
Disque Hall 905
bose@drexel.edu
215.895.2718

Nanoscience, high-temperature superconductivity, theory of surfaces and interfaces, disordered systems, electron and X-ray spectroscopies of solids

Department of Physics
Luis Cruz Cruz
Associate Professor
Disque Hall 912
ccruz@physics.drexel.edu
215.895.2739

Computational studies of confinement effects on the folding of amyloidogenic proteins, spatial correlations of neurons in the brain, firing dynamics of neuronal networks, fluid flow through porous media

Department of Physics
Dr. N. John DiNardo
Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs; Professor
Main Building - Office of the Provost
dinardo@drexel.edu
215.895.2510
Department of Physics
Dr. Michelle Dolinski
Assistant Professor
Disque Hall 913
michelle.j.dolinski@drexel.edu
215.895.6860

Neutrino Physics, Rare Nuclear Decays, Cryogenic Detector Technologies.

Department of Physics
Dr. Frank Ferrone
Professor
Disque Hall 922
fferrone@physics.drexel.edu
215.895.2778

Experimental and theoretical protein dynamics, kinetics of biological self-assembly, including sickle cell and Alzheimer's disease., sickle cell testing and diagnostic devices

Department of Physics
Leonard Finegold
Professor Emeritus
Disque Hall 915
l@drexel.edu
215.895.2740
Department of Physics
Robert Gilmore
Professor Emeritus
Disque Hall 916
robert.gilmore@drexel.edu
215.895.2779

Group theory and its applications to atomic, nuclear, and condensed matter physics; Catastrophe theory, nonlinear dynamics, chaos, quantum mechanics.

Department of Physics
David Goldberg, PhD
Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Education, Associate Department Head for Undergraduate Studies; Professor
Disque Hall 810
goldberg@drexel.edu
215.895.2715

Theoretical and computational cosmology, extragalactic astrophysics, gravitational lensing, popular science writing

Department of Physics
Astrophysics
Richard Haracz
Professor Emeritus
Disque Hall 915
haraczrd@drexel.edu
215.895.2043
Department of Physics
Maher Harb, PhD
Assistant Professor
Disque Hall 807
maher.harb@drexel.edu
215.895.1985

Solid state physics, ultrafast Electron electron diffraction, time-resolved X-ray diffraction, ultrafast lasers, nanofabrication, nano/microfluidics, instrument development, vacuum technologies.

Department of Physics
Frederick House
Professor Emeritus
Disque Hall 623
house@drexel.edu
215.895.2724
Department of Physics
Timothy Jones
Adjunct Professor
Off-campus
timjones@einstein.physics.drexel.edu
Department of Physics
Goran Karapetrov
Professor
Disque Hall 622
goran@drexel.edu
215.571.4090

Experimental Solid State Physics, Scanning Probe Microscopy, Nanoscale Catalysis, Mesoscopic Superconductivity.

Department of Physics
Rachel Kratzer, PhD
Assistant Teaching Professor
Disque Hall, Room 904
rachael.m.kratzer@drexel.edu
215.895.6669

Quasars, active galactic nuclei.

Department of Physics
Naoko Kurahashi-Neilson, PhD
Assistant Professor
Disque Hall 914
naoko.neilson@drexel.edu
215.895.2725
Neutrino physics, High Energy Astro-particle Physics. Department of Physics
Charles Lane
Professor
Disque Hall 911
lane@duphy4.physics.drexel.edu
215.895.1545

Experimental tests of invariance principles and conservation laws, neutrino oscillations and properties

Department of Physics
Donald Larson
Professor Emeritus
Disque Hall 623
donlarson@drexel.edu
215.895.2724
Department of Physics
Tech Kah Lim
Professor
Randell Hall 240
limtk@drexel.edu
215.895.1670
Department of Physics
Christina Love
Assistant Teaching Professor
Disque Hall 804
love@drexel.edu
215.571.3699
Educational Methods and Technology, STEM Education, Science Literacy and Outreach, Particle Physics, Astrophysics Department of Physics
James Mccray
Professor Emeritus
Disque Hall 915
natphilo@comcast.net
215.895.6868
Department of Physics
Stephen McMillan, PhD
Department Head; Professor
Disque Hall 816
steve@physics.drexel.edu
215.895.2709

Stellar dynamics, Computations of stellar systems.

Department of Physics
Astrophysics
Russell Neilson
Assistant Professor
Disque Hall 609
russell.g.neilson@drexel.edu
215.895.2729

Dark matter, Neutrino physics

Department of Physics
Gordon Richards, PhD
Professor
Disque Hall 812
gtr@physics.drexel.edu
215.895.2713

Quasars, active galactic nuclei, supermassive black holes, galaxy evolution, sky surveys, infrared/X-ray/radio astronomy.

Department of Physics
Eric Scheidly
Adjunct Professor
Off-campus
scheidly@drexel.edu
Department of Physics
Jonathan Spanier
Professor, Materials Science & Engineering, Affiliated Faculty
LeBow 440
spanier@drexel.edu
215.895.2301

Light-matter interactions in electronic materials, including ferroelectric semiconductors, complex oxide thin film science; laser spectroscopy, including Raman scattering.

Department of Physics
Dr. Jerry Steinberg
Adjunct Professor
Off-campus
jis32@drexel.edu
Department of Physics
Richard Steinberg
Professor
Disque Hall 707
steinberg@drexel.edu
215.895.2727

Search for magnetic monopoles; Neutrino oscillations

Department of Physics
Som Tyagi
Associate Department Head for Non-Major Studies, Professor
Disque Hall 806
tyagi@drexel.edu
215.895.6956

Nanobiophysics, Raman spectroscopy, Magnetic materials.

Department of Physics
Brigita Urbanc
Associate Professor
Disque Hall 909
brigita@physics.drexel.edu
215.895.2726

Computational and experimental biophysics of protein folding and assembly, relevant to Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease; discrete molecular dynamics of coarse-grained protein and lipid models

Department of Physics
Michel Vallires
Professor
Disque Hall 805
vallieres@physics.drexel.edu
215.895.2714

Nuclear Physics

Department of Physics
Michael Vogeley
Associate Department Head for Graduate Studies; Professor
Disque Hall 811
vogeley@drexel.edu
215.895.2710

Cosmology, Galaxy formation and evolution, Statistical analysis of large data sets, Active galactic nuclei.

Department of Physics
Dr. Jian-Min Yuan
Professor
Disque Hall 819B
yuanjm@drexel.edu
215.895.2722

Biophysics, protein folding/unfolding, protein aggregation, cellular signaling pathways, stochastic dynamics; chemical physics, reaction dyanmics, nonlinear dynamics, interaction of radiation with matter.

Department of Physics