For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Drexel's 2017 Truman Finalist

February 27, 2017

Congratulations to Vincent O'Leary, who has been selected as a finalist for the prestigious Truman Scholarship!


Vincent O'LearyVincent (BS Environmental Science '18, Honors) is a fourth year Environmental Science major and is passionate about the intersection of the environment and society, especially using data to visualize and tell stories about the world around us. At Drexel, Vincent has worked with several groups at the Academy of Natural Sciences, most recently for his co-op with Steve Dilliplane. In this position Vincent helped to set the ground work for combining all the Academy's digital records into a single database for researchers to use. Through this work, Vincent came to appreciate the data management and archival side of research, and is now working with Dr. Ted Daeschler in the Department of Vertebrate Biology to digitize their collection of nearly 25,000 fossils. Through his research and experiences like the NOAA Hollings Scholarship, Vincent has become an advocate for communication in science, and hopes to continue sharing his interests with the public.

The Truman Scholarship is a highly prestigious national program that supports the graduate education and professional development of outstanding young people committed to careers in public service, including education and non-profit sectors. Since its creation in 1975, the Truman Scholarship Foundation has supported almost 3,000 Truman Scholars who are making a difference in all corners of the nation and around the globe.

To learn more about the Truman Scholarship and how to apply at Drexel, visit our Truman Scholarship page or email!

Special thanks to the members of Drexel’s 2017 Truman Campus Committee, who worked with the Fellowships Office during the fall and winter terms to review applications, conduct interviews, and advise our nominee on his application:

  • Peter Amato, Teaching Professor, Philosophy
  • Kristine Mulhorn, Teaching Professor, Department Chair, Health Administration
  • Richardson Dilworth, Teaching Professor and Interim Department Head, Politics, Director, Center for Public Policy
  • Ryan O’Connor, Assistant Director, Lindy Center for Civic Engagement