For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Wilson Reading System® (WRS) Level I Certification

Drexel University School of Education Continuing Education Programs

What Is the Wilson Reading System® (WRS)? 

The Wilson Reading System® (WRS) is a three tier program for students in grades 2-12 and adults who have a language-based disability such as dyslexia. WRS teaches students decoding and encoding skills to help them master the English language.

What Does It Mean To Be Wilson Certified?

The WRS Level I Certification course prepares teachers to effectively implement WRS Steps 1-6 with students who are reading and spelling below grade level as well as those diagnosed with a language-based learning disability, such as dyslexia.

WRS Level I Certification courses will enable you to:

  • Become proficient at teaching structured literacy.
  • Gain the confidence, skills, and experience necessary to successfully teach reading and spelling and have the opportunity to become a teacher-leaders
  • Become qualified to teach students with dyslexia if coursework is completed and practicum passed.
  • Learn to teach reading and spelling using a straightforward, experiential learning approach that supports the goals, principles, and recommended practices of implementation science.
  • Acquire multisensory teaching strategies and a comprehensive understanding of the structure of the English language.
  • Improve the ability to plan and implement a coherent lesson based on the diverse needs of students.
  • Those individuals with level I certification are eligible for the Wilson® Dyslexia Practitioner (W.D.P.) credential
  • Individuals with level I certification are also eligible for the WRS Advanced Strategies for MSL Group Instruction Course and WRS Level II Certification, offered by Drexel University

Level I Certification Program & Prerequisites

The first step for individuals or teachers that are interested in obtaining level I certification is to take the WRS Introductory Course followed by the Level I Certification course. The Wilson Reading System® (WRS) certification program is perfect for reading specialists, tutors, and special education teachers. Fundations® workshops and coaching are available for Kindergarten, First, Second, and Third grade general education teachers.

  • Instruction is by certified faculty of Drexel University's School of Education.
  • Online courses are available throughout the year.
  • Act 48 credits are available.
  • Students complete five online observations by a Wilson® certified trainer in addition to the coursework. 

Do Wilson Reading Certifications Expire? 

WRS level I and level II certifications are recognized by Wilson Language Training® (WLT) from their issue date. Renewals are not necessary as level I and level II certifications do not expire.

Begin Your Wilson Level I Certification With Drexel University 

Drexel's Level I certification program meets the standards of the International Dyslexia Association®. Drexel is also a Wilson® Accredited Partner. Request more information about this certification here, or contact the Office of Lifelong Learning.