For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Religious Calendar 2018

Policy Statement

Embodying a culturally and spiritually diverse community, Drexel University recognizes that on the occasion of important or solemn religious days, certain of its members will observe practices that preclude them from attending to their regular duties whether as faculty members or students. On the occasion of such days, it is important for all who do not share in these same practices to accommodate their colleagues and peers.

Religious Holidays Comprehensive Calendar

2018 DAYS HOLIDAY RELIGION
1-Jan Monday Mary, Mother of God Catholic Christian
1-Jan Monday Feast Day of St Basil Orthodox Christian
1-Jan Monday Gantan-sai(New Years) Shinto
1-Jan Monday Holy Name of Jesus Orthodox Christian
2-Jan Tuesday-Thursday(4) Mahayana New Year Buddhist
5-Jan Friday Twelfth Night Christian
5-Jan Friday Guru Gobindh Singh birthday Sikh
6-Jan Saturday Epiphany Christian
6-Jan Saturday Feast of the Epiphany (Theophany) Orthodox Christian
6-Jan Saturday Dia de los Reyes (Three Kings Day) Christian
6-Jan Saturday Nativity of Christ Armenian Orthodox
7-Jan Sunday Feast of the Nativity** Orthodox Christian
7-Jan Sunday Baptism of the Lord Jesus Christian
8-Jan Monday Feast of the Holy Family Catholic Christian
13-Jan Saturday Maghi Sikh
17-Jan Wednesday Blessing of the Animals Hispanic Catholic Christian
18-Jan Thursday-Thursday(25) Week of Prayer for Christian Unity Christian
19-Jan Friday Timkat Ethiopian Orthodox Christian
21-Jan Sunday World Religion Day Baha'i
21-Jan Sunday Triodion begins Orthodox Christian
22-Jan Monday Vasant Panchami ** Hindu
25-Jan Thursday Conversion of St. Paul Christian
31-Jan Wednesday Tu BiShvat * Jewish
2-Feb Friday Candlemas - Presentation of Christ in the Temple Christian
2-Feb Friday Imbolc - Lughnassah * Wicca/Pagan
2-Feb Friday Saint Brighid of Kildare Celtic Christian
3-Feb Saturday St. Blaze Day Christian
3-Feb Saturday Setsebun sai Shinto
4-Feb Sunday Four Chaplains Sunday Interfaith
8-Feb Thursday Nirvana Day Buddhism
11-Feb Sunday Cheese Fare Sunday Orthodox Christian
11-Feb Sunday Transfiguration Sunday Christian
12-Feb Monday Triodion Orthodox Christian
12-Feb Monday Clean Monday - Lent begins Orthodox Christian
13-Feb Tuesday Shrove Tuesday Christian
14-Feb Wednesday St. Valentine's Day Christian
14-Feb Wednesday Maha Shivaratri ** Hindu
14-Feb Wednesday Ash Wednesday - Lent begins Christian
15-Feb Thursday Nirvana Day ** Buddhist - Jain
16-Feb Friday Chinese New Year Confucian, Daoist, Buddhist
18-Feb Sunday Orthodox Sunday Orthodox Christian
26-Feb Monday Intercalary Days Baha'i
1-Mar Thursday St. David of Wales Christian
2-Mar Friday Nineteen Day Fast * Baha'i
3-Mar Saturday Holi ** Hindu
11-Mar Sunday Purim Jewish
6-Mar Tuesday Meatfare Sunday Orthodox Christian
13-Mar Tuesday L. Ron Hubbard birthday Scientology
17-Mar Saturday St. Patrick's Day Christian
18-Mar Sunday New Year ** Hindu
18-Mar Sunday Ramayana ** Hindu
19-Mar Monday St. Joseph's Day Christian
21-Mar Wednesday Norooz (New Year) Persian/Zoroastrian
21-Mar Wednesday Naw-Rúz(New Year) * Baha'i
21-Mar Wednesday Ostara - Mabon * Wicca/Pagan
25-Mar Sunday Annunciation of the Virgin Mary Christian
25-Mar Sunday Palm Sunday Christian
26-Mar Monday Ramanavami ** Hindu
28-Mar Wednesday Khordad Sal (Birth of Prophet Zaranthushtra) ** Zoroastrian
30-Mar Friday Good Friday Christian
31-Mar Saturday Pesach * Jewish
31-Mar Saturday Lazarus Saturday Orthodox Christian
31-Mar Saturday Hanuman Jayanti ** Hindu
31-Mar Saturday Lord's Evening Meal Jehovah's Witness Christian
31-Mar Saturday Magha Puja Day** Buddhist
1-Apr Sunday Easter Christian
1-Apr Sunday Palm Sunday Orthodox Christian
3-Apr Tuesday Mahavir Jayanti ** Jain
6-Apr Friday Holy Friday Orthodox Christian
8-Apr Sunday Pascha - Easter Orthodox Christian
12-Apr Thursday Yom HaShoah * Jewish
13-Apr Friday Lailat al Miraj * Islam
14-Apr Saturday Baisakhi (Vaisakhi) Sikh
19-Apr Thursday Yom Ha'Atzmaut * Jewish
21-Apr Saturday First Day of Ridvan * Baha'i
23-Apr Monday St. George's Day Christian
29-Apr Sunday Ninth Day of Ridvan * Baha'i
29-Apr Sunday Visakha Puja - Buddha Day ** Buddhist
30-Apr Monday St. James the Great Day Orthodox Christian
30-Apr Monday-Wednesday(2) Theravadin New Year Buddhist
1-May Tuesday Beltane - Samhain* Wicca/Pagan
1-May Tuesday Lailat al Bara'ah * Islam
2-May Wednesday Last day of Ridvan * Baha'i
3-May Thursday Saints Philip & James Christian
3-May Thursday National Day of Prayer - USA Interfaith
3-May Thursday Lag B/Omer * Jewish
10-May Thursday Ascension of Jesus Christian
16-May Wednesday Ramadanbegins *** Islam
17-May Thursday Ascension of Jesus Orthodox Christians
20-May Sunday Shavout * Jewish
20-May Sunday Pentecost Christian
23-May Wednesday Declaration of the Bab* Baha'i
27-May Sunday Pentecost Orthodox Christian
27-May Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian
29-May Tuesday Ascension of Baha'u'llah* Baha'i
31-May Thursday Corpus Christi Catholic Christian
2-Jun Saturday All Saints Orthodox Christian
8-Jun Friday Sacred Heart of Jesus Catholic Christian
9-Jun Saturday St. Columba of Iona Celtic Christian
11-Jun Monday Laylat al Kadr * Islam
15-Jun Friday-Sunday(17) Eid al Fitr - Ramadan ends* Islam
15-Jun Friday Saint Vladimir Day Christian
16-Jun Saturday Guru Arjan martyrdom Sikh
19-Jun Tuesday New Church Day Swedenborgian Christian
20-Jun Wednesday Waqf al Arafa - Hajj Day * Islam
21-Jun Thursday First Nations Day Canadian Native People
21-Jun Thursday Litha-Yule * Wicca/Pagan
29-Jun Friday Feast Day of Saints Peter and Paul Christian
9-Jul Monday Martyrdom of the Bab * Baha'i
11-Jul Wednesday St Benedict Day Catholic Christian
13-Jul Friday-Sunday(15) Obon(Ulambana) ** Buddhist - Shinto
15-Jul Sunday St. Vladimir the Great Day Orthodox Christian
22-Jul Sunday Tish'a B'av * Jewish
24-Jul Tuesday Pioneer Day Mormon Christian
25-Jul Wednesday St. James the Great Day Christian
27-Jul Friday Asalha Puja Day** Buddhist
1-Aug Wednesday Lammas Christian
1-Aug Wednesday Fast in Honor of Holy Mother of Jesus Orthodox Christian
2-Aug Thursday Lughnassad - Imbolc * Wicca/Pagan
6-Aug Monday Transfiguration of the Lord Orthodox Christian
15-Aug Wednesday Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary Catholic Christian
15-Aug Wednesday Dormition of the Theotokos Orthodox Christian
22-Aug Wednesday-Saturday(25) Eid al Adha* Islam
29-Aug Wednesday Beheading of St. John the Baptist Christian
29-Aug Wednesday Raksha Bandhan ** Hindu
1-Sep Saturday Religious year begins Orthodox Christian
3-Sep Monday Krishna Janmashtami** Hindu
8-Sep Saturday Nativity of Virgin Mary Christian
10-Sep Monday-Tuesday(11) Rosh Hashanah* Jewish
12-Sep Wednesday New Year - Hijra * Islam
13-Sep Thursday Ganesh Chaturthi ** Hindu
14-Sep Friday Elevation of the Life Giving Cross (Holy Cross) Christian
14-Sep Friday Paryushana Parva** Jain
19-Sep Wednesday Yom Kippur* Jewish
21-Sep Friday Ashura * Islam
22-Sep Saturday Mabon - Ostara* Wicca
24-Sep Monday-Monday(31) Sukkot * Jewish
27-Sep Thursday Meskel Ethiopian Christian
29-Sep Saturday Michael and All Angels Christian
1-Oct Monday Shemini Atzeret * Jewish
2-Oct Tuesday Simchat Torah * Jewish
4-Oct Thursday St Francis Day Catholic Christian
4-Oct Thursday Blessing of the Animals Christian
8-Oct Monday Thanksgiving - Canada Interfaith
9-Oct Tuesday-Tuesday(16) Navaratri** Hindu
18-Oct Thursday St. Luke, Apostle & Evangelist Christian
19-Oct Friday Dasara** Hindu
20-Oct Saturday Birth of the Báb * Baha'i
20-Oct Saturday Installation of Scriptures as Guru Granth Sikh
28-Oct Sunday Reformation Day** Protestant Christian
28-Oct Sunday Milvian Bridge Day Christian
31-Oct Wednesday All Hallows Eve Christian
31-Oct Wednesday Reformation Day Protestant Christian
1-Nov Thursday All Saints Day Christian
1-Nov Thursday Samhain - Beltane* Wicca/Pagan
2-Nov Friday All Souls Day Catholic Christian
7-Nov Wednesday Diwali Sikh - Jain - Hindu
8-Nov Thursday Jain New Year ** Jain
8-Nov Thursday Vikram New Year ** Hindu
12-Nov Monday Birth of Baha'u'llah * Baha'i
15-Nov Thursday Nativity Fast begins - ends Dec. 24 Orthodox Christian
21-Nov Wednesday Mawlid an Nabi * Islam
22-Nov Thursday Thanksgiving Interfaith USA
23-Nov Friday Birthday of Guru Nanak Dev Sahib Sikh
25-Nov Sunday Christ the King Christian
26-Nov Monday Day of the Covenant * Baha'i
28-Nov Wednesday Ascension of 'Abdu'l-Baha * Baha'i
30-Nov Friday St. Andrew's Day Christian
2-Dec Sunday-Monday(24) Advent Christian
3-Dec Monday-Monday(10) Hanukkah * Jewish
6-Dec Thursday Saint Nicholas Day Christian
8-Dec Saturday Bodhi Day (Rohatsu) ** Buddhist
8-Dec Saturday Immaculate Conception of Mary Catholic Christian
12-Dec Wednesday Feast day - Our Lady of Guadalupe Catholic Christian
16-Dec Sunday-Tuesday(25) Posadas Navidenas Hispanic Christian
21-Dec Friday Yule Christian
21-Dec Friday Yule - Litha * Wicca/Pagan
21-Dec Friday Saint Thomas the Apostle Christian
24-Dec Monday Christmas Eve Christian
25-Dec Tuesday Christmas* Christian
25-Dec Tuesday Feast of the Nativity** Orthodox Christian
26-Dec Wednesday Zarathosht Diso (Death of Prophet Zarathushtra) ** Zoroastrian
26-Dec Wednesday St Stephen's Day Christian
28-Dec Friday Holy Innocents Christian
30-Dec Sunday Holy Family Catholic Christian
31-Dec Monday Watch Night Christian